Hendrick Motorsports on the cusp of history

Getty Images

With Chase Elliott grabbing the win in the rain-shortened NASCAR Cup Series race at Circuit of The Americas, Hendrick Motorsports has tied Petty Enterprises for the series-most wins by a single organization with 268 victories each. This weekend, Hendrick Motorsports has the chance to surpass Petty Enterprises and become the sole leader in wins by a single organization in the NASCAR Cup Series.

Top 10 All-Time NASCAR Cup Series Organization Wins

RankOrganizationNCS Wins
1Petty Enterprises268
Hendrick Motorsports268
3Joe Gibbs Racing190
4Roush Fenway Racing137
5Junior Johnson & Assoc.132
6Team Penske128
7Richard Childress Racing109
8Wood Brothers Racing99
9Holman-Moody Racing96
10Stewart-Haas Racing65

Petty Enterprises and Hendrick Motorsports are the class of the field in their respective eras. Petty Enterprises won its first of their 268 wins in the inaugural NASCAR Cup Series season (1949) with NASCAR Hall of Fame driver Lee Petty taking the checkered flag at Heidelberg Raceway in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. Petty Enterprises led eight different drivers to Victory Lane in the NASCAR Cup Series to reach 268 wins; including the series all-time winningest driver and NASCAR Hall of Famer Richard Petty with 196 of his record 200 victories coming under the Petty banner. Petty Enterprises secured their final NASCAR Cup Series win on April 18, 1999 at Martinsville Speedway with driver John Andretti. In total the organization competed in the NASCAR Cup Series for more than 50 years bringing home not only wins but also 10 NASCAR Cup Series titles (Lee Petty: 1954, 1958, 1959 and Richard Petty: 1964, 1967, 1971, 1972, 1974, 1975 and 1979).

Hendrick Motorsports since coming on the NASCAR Cup Series scene in 1984 (originally called All-Star Racing) and ever since have been a force to reckon with. Hendrick Motorsports scored their first NASCAR Cup Series victory with driver Geoff Bodine at Martinsville Speedway on April 29, 1984; just the organization’s eighth start in the series. Since entering the NASCAR Cup Series, Hendrick Motorsports has led 20 different drivers to Victory Lane; including their winningest driver and NASCAR Hall of Famer Jeff Gordon with 93 Cup victories. Hendrick Motorsports already leads the series in championships with Chase Elliott securing their record 13th NASCAR Cup Series title, the most all-time (2020, ‘16, ’13, ’10, ’09, ’08, ’07, ’06, ’01, ’98, ’97, ’96, ’95) last season.

OrganizationRace WinnersCup WinsOrganizationRace WinnersCup Wins
1Hendrick MotorsportsJeff Gordon93Petty EnterprisesRichard Petty196
2Hendrick MotorsportsJimmie Johnson83Petty EnterprisesLee Petty54
3Hendrick MotorsportsChase Elliott12Petty EnterprisesJim Paschal9
4Hendrick MotorsportsTerry Labonte12Petty EnterprisesPete Hamilton3
5Hendrick MotorsportsDale Earnhardt Jr9Petty EnterprisesBobby Hamilton2
6Hendrick MotorsportsDarrell Waltrip9Petty EnterprisesBuddy Baker2
7Hendrick MotorsportsTim Richmond9Petty EnterprisesJohn Andretti1
8Hendrick MotorsportsGeoff Bodine7Petty EnterprisesMarvin Panch1
9Hendrick MotorsportsKasey Kahne6Total268
10Hendrick MotorsportsMark Martin5
11Hendrick MotorsportsAlex Bowman4
12Hendrick MotorsportsKen Schrader4
13Hendrick MotorsportsKyle Busch4
14Hendrick MotorsportsRicky Rudd4
15Hendrick MotorsportsWilliam Byron2
16Hendrick MotorsportsBrian Vickers1
17Hendrick MotorsportsCasey Mears1
18Hendrick MotorsportsJerry Nadeau1
19Hendrick MotorsportsJoe Nemechek1
20Hendrick MotorsportsKyle Larson1

Elliott is also the most recent series winner at Charlotte Motor Speedway, grabbing the victory last season (5/28/20). A win this weekend at Charlotte could have them celebrating the milestone 269th victory in front of a home town crowd. Hendrick Motorsport’s drivers are hot right now putting up five wins this season; including winning the last two races on the 2021 schedule (Alex Bowman, Dover and Chase Elliott, COTA). And to boot, all four drivers have secured wins this season and are locked into the Playoffs.   

Sharing is caring!