Grant Drives Toyota to Second, Advances Directly to Chili Bowl A Main

Toyota Racing Development

Justin Grant drove from fifth to second in Friday’s Hard Rock Casino Qualifying Night feature event to advance directly to Saturday’s A Main feature at the 37th annual Lucas Oil Chili Bowl Nationals. 

It marked the sixth time Grant has transferred directly to the A Main in the last seven years. Overall, Toyota-powered drivers captured five of the ten positions locked into Saturday’s A Main.

Grant started the night off by dominating both his heat and qualifying races, but due to a poor draw earlier in the day, the RMS Racing driver was forced to start back in the fifth position. He jumped up to third on the opening lap, then climbed into second after a restart on lap seven. He would then make a number of runs on eventual winner Logan Seavey but fell just short of the victory.

Grant wasn’t the only Toyota-powered driver to have a strong night as drivers from four different Toyota-powered teams placed in the top 10 on Friday night.  Zeb Wise (Rudeen Racing) finished fourth, with Jace Park (CB Industries) placing seventh and Bryant Wiedeman (Keith Kunz Motorsports) finishing tenth.

This year’s Lucas Oil Chili Bowl Nationals features 365 entries – each fighting for one of the 24 openings in Saturday night’s “A Main” feature event. A total of 60 Toyota-powered drivers are expected to compete on Saturday.

# # #


Justin Grant, RMS Racing Toyota: “It was pretty much a pavement race at the end (with the track conditions). It just happens now and then. Nothing to be mad about, we’re locked into the Chili Bowl. We’ve got a really good race car and we’re hoping to win on Saturday night. We had a good car in the heat race and then a really good car in the qualifier, but we might have tweaked it a little too much for the final.”


Toyota Friday ResultsFinished
Justin GrantA Main – 2nd
Zeb WiseA Main – 4th
Jace ParkA Main – 7th
Bryant WiedemanA Main – 10th
Brenham CrouchA Main – 19th
Austin BarnhillA Main – 23rd
Santino FerrucciB Main – 10th
Josh HawkinsB Main – 10th
A.J. HopkinsB Main – 14th
Chad FrewaldtD Main – 6th

Toyota Saturday Race Line-up 

Car #DriverHometownQualified
08Cannon McIntoshBixby, OKA Main
24Rico AbreuSt. Helena, CAA Main
1SSpencer BaystonLebanon, INA Main
2JJustin GrantIone, CAA Main
89XMitchel MolesRaisin city, CAA Main
84 (R)Jade AvedisianClovis, CAB Main
89Chris WindomCanton, ILB Main
21HBrady BaconBroken Arrow, OKB Main
52Blake HahnSapulpa, OKB Main
26RZeb WiseAngola, INB Main
32TTrey MarchamNewcastle, OKB Main
88JJonathan BeasonBroken Arrow, OKB Main
5TKevin Thomas JrCullman, ALB Main
5GGavan BoscheleMooresville, NCB Main
98Tanner CarrickLincoln, CAB Main
71Kaylee BrysonMuskogee, OKB Main
67Ryan TimmsOklahoma City, OKB Main
25KTaylor ReimerTulsa, OKB Main
87 (R)Jace ParkOverland Park, KSB Main
26Chance CrumSnohomish, WAB Main
25Jacob DenneyGalloway, OHC Main
71K (R)Dominic GordenClovis, CAC Main
51BJoe B. MillerMillersville, MOC Main
01Bryant WiedemanColby, KSC Main
08GTrey GroppLincoln, NEC Main
81 (R)Tanner HolmesJacksonville, ORC Main
08GTrey GroppLincoln, NEC Main
80S (R)Kaden HoneycuttBridge City, TXC Main
67X (R)Kyle SpenceBridgeton, NJC Main
82Landon CrawleyBenton, ARC Main
91XDanny WoodNorman, OKD Main
97KTom HarrisBanbury, OXF
(United Kingdom)
D Main
71EMariah EdeFresno, CAD Main
67K (R)Cade LewisBakersfield, CAD Main
5VA.J. BenderSan Diego, CAD Main
97Brenham CrouchLubbock, TXD Main
71WMichael KofoidPenngrove, CAD Main
00Anton HernandezArlington, TXD Main
47WDylan WestbrookScotland, ON
D Main
4XMichael PickensAuckland, NZ
(New Zealand)
E Main
17BAustin BarnhillWilmington, NCE Main
25MJake AndreottiCastro Valley, CAE Main
32Gary TaylorSnohomish, WAE Main
1KBrayton LynchSpringfield, ILF Main
08KKarsyn ElledgeMooresville, NCF Main
56Mitchell DavisAuburn, ILF Main
56XMark ChisholmCheyenne, WYF Main
80A (R)Chris SchmelzleColville, WAF Main
3NJake NeumanNew Berlin, ILF Main
20HNoah HarrisBroken Arrow, OKF Main
32WCasey ShumanRattlesnake Bend, AZF Main
06Rylan GrayGreenfield, ING Main
16Santino FerrucciWoodbury, CTG Main
80DJosh HawkinsWhitehouse, TXG Main
7PAJ HopkinsBrownsburg, INI Main
4RRyan BickettRamona, SDK Main
5KBen WorthCoalinga, CAL Main
4MBrody FusonBakersfield, CAL Main
80 (R)Jarrod JenningsRichardson, TXL Main
7TXAnthony PopeRoseburg, ORM Main
11N (R)Nick BaranTomahawk, WIN Main
21DJustin DickersonPittsboro, INN Main
4FChad FrewaldtKansas City, KSP Main

 (R) = Rookie


Spread the love