Devil’s Bowl Winter Nationals On Deck For The Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series

American Sprint Car Series

Gearing up for a turn at one of the nation’s top half-mile-ovals, the Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by the MAVTV Motorsports Network will take on the Devil’s Bowl Speedway on Friday, October 14, and Saturday, October 15 with the 49th annual Winter Nationals / Lanny and Beverly Edwards Memorial.

Kicking off the final run to the 2022 National Tour Championship, the two-night showdown at the Devil’s Bowl is followed by Fuzzy’s Fall Fling at Creek County Speedway on Friday, October 28, and Saturday, October 29, to settle who walks away with the $50,000 champion’s check.

Going into the Devil’s Bowl Winter Nationals, Blake Hahn continues to lead the 2022 standings with a 101-point lead over Wayne Johnson. A track that has worked well for both drivers over the years, one mistake by either could tip the scales tremendously. While Blake has had consistent runs at the Mesquite oval, the nod on performance goes to Johnson, who has 10 career National Tour wins at the Devil’s Bowl, with his most recent coming during the Spring Nationals.

Not out of the realm of possibility should something go down among the top two, that could easily bring Matt Covington, who has also been very successful at the Devil’s Bowl, back into the chase, despite trailing by 173 points.

Chasing Covington is Tim Crawley, who is only 13 points back from the No. 95, and 186 away from Hahn. Completing the top five is Jason Martin, who leads the Brodix Rookie of the Year standings. Brandon Anderson holds sixth in tour standings, followed by Landon Crawley, Landon Britt, Kyler Johnson, and Ryan Bickett to make up the top ten.

Friday, October 14, offers teams $3,000 to win and $300 to start with Saturday, October 15, upped to $4,000 to win. Pits open at Noon each day, with racing at 7:00 P.M. on Friday and 8:00 P.M. (CDT). Tickets each night are $25 for adults, $15 for Seniors (60+), $15 for Military and Youth (13-15), and free for Kids 12 and under. Pit Passes are $35. Devil’s Bowl Speedway is located at 1711 Lawson Rd. in Mesquite, Texas. For tickets and directions, log onto or call (972) 222-2421.

The 2022 season will mark the 31st year of competition for the American Sprint Car Series. Spearheaded by the Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by the MAVTV Motorsports Network, the ASCS Nation includes Regional Tours that encompass both wing and non-wing competition.

For fans not able to attend, the series can be seen live on two platforms, with on featuring National Tour events in tandem. Both are subscription-based sites. is $20 per month, billed annually at $150 per year. All Access is $39.99 per month.

For other news, notes, and information on any of the tours under the ASCS banner, log onto, follow on Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter (@LucasOilASCS).

Quick Check:

Who: Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series

What: 49th Devil’s Bowl Winter Nationals

Where: Devil’s Bowl Speedway (Mesquite, Texas)

When: Friday, October 14, and Saturday, October 15

Times and Other Info:

Friday, October 14:

Pits: Noon

Grandstands: 5:00 P.M.

Draw: 5:45 PM – 6:15 PM

Driver’s Meeting: 6:30 P.M.

Hot Laps: 7:15 P.M.

Racing: 8:00 P.M.

Saturday, October 15

Pits: Noon

Grandstands: 5:00 P.M.

Draw: 4:45 PM – 5:15 PM

Driver’s Meeting: 5:30 P.M.

Hot Laps: 6:15 P.M.

Racing: 7:00 P.M.

Muffler Rule: ASCS Schoenfeld Muffler Required

RACEceiver: 1368


Pit Pass: $35 (Per Day)

Grandstand Admission: $25, 12 & under free (Per Day)

Contact Info: Devil’s Bowl Speedway

Address: 1711 Lawson Rd. Mesquite, TX 75181

Phone: (972) 222-2421

Email: [email protected]



ASCS National Tour Win History

Devil’s Bowl Speedway (Mesquite) – 103 events

  1. 6/21/94—Shane Carson (Speedweek)
  2. 5/12/95—Alan Payne
  3. 7/23/95—Mike Ward (Speedweek)
  4. 9/1/95—Mike Peters
  5. 9/2/95—Sammy Swindell
  6. 9/3/95—Sammy Swindell
  7. 6/18/96—Wayne Johnson (Speedweek)
  8. 7/6/96—Terry Gray
  9. 11/1/96—Terry Gray
  10. 11/2/96—Johnny Herrera
  11. 4/5/97—Shane Carson
  12. 6/18/97—Wayne Johnson (Speedweek)
  13. 10/31/97—Edd French
  14. 11/1/97—Mike Peters
  15. 6/19/98—Gary Wright (Speedweek)
  16. 10/3/98—Gary Wright
  17. 10/4/98—Garry Lee Maier
  18. 7/8/99—Gary Wright
  19. 7/30/99—Garry Lee Maier (Speedweek)
  20. 10/1/99—Gary Wright
  21. 10/2/99—Gary Wright
  22. 7/21/00—Gary Wright (Speedweek)
  23. 10/6/00—Gary Wright
  24. 4/20/01—Larry Neighbors
  25. 7/20/01—Gary Wright (Speedweek)
  26. 10/6/01—Gary Wright
  27. 4/19/02—Travis Rilat
  28. 6/7/02—Jason Johnson (Speedweek)
  29. 10/4/02—Wayne Johnson
  30. 10/5/02—Gary Wright
  31. 4/18/03—Kevin Ramey
  32. 10/17/03—Tim Crawley
  33. 10/18/03—Gary Wright
  34. 10/23/04—Shane Stewart
  35. 3/18/05—Danny Jennings
  36. 3/19/05—Danny Jennings
  37. 6/9/05—Danny Jennings (Speedweek)
  38. 10/21/05—Gary Wright
  39. 10/22/05—Gary Wright
  40. 6/24/06—Kevin Ramey (Spring Nat. Makeup 3/17/06)
  41. 6/24/06—Kevin Ramey (Summer Nat.)
  42. 7/13/06—Gary Wright (Speedweek)
  43. 10/13/06—Jason Johnson
  44. 10/14/06—Travis Rilat
  45. 3/16/07—Wayne Johnson
  46. 3/17/07—Jake Peters
  47. 5/12/07—Gary Wright
  48. 7/19/07—Gary Wright (Speedweek)
  49. 10/12/07—Jason Johnson
  50. 10/13/07—Jason Johnson
  51. 3/14/08—Tony Bruce, Jr.
  52. 3/15/08—Gary Wright
  53. 5/10/08—Jason Johnson
  54. 7/17/08—Gary Wright (Speedweek)
  55. 10/17/08—Jason Johnson
  56. 10/18/08—Gary Wright
  57. 3/20/09—Shane Stewart
  58. 3/21/09—Jason Johnson
  59. 10/17/09—Gary Wright
  60. 10/18/09—Kevin Ramey
  61. 3/19/10—Sammy Swindell
  62. 10/15/10—Jason Johnson
  63. 10/16/10—Jack Dover
  64. 3/25/11—Jason Johnson
  65. 3/26/11—Sam Hafertepe, Jr.
  66. 10/21/11—Wayne Johnson
  67. 10/22/11—Danny Lasoski
  68. 3/24/12—Jason Johnson
  69. 6/15/12—Wayne Johnson (Speedweek)
  70. 6/16/12—Brian Brown (Speedweek)
  71. 10/19/12—Jeff Swindell (Winter Nat. Prelim)
  72. 10/20/12—Jeff Swindell (Winter Nat. Finale)
  73. 3/22/13—Kyle Bellm (Spring Nat.)
  74. 6/15/13—Johnny Herrera (Speedweek)
  75. 10/19/13—Brian Brown (Winter Nat.)
  76. 3/21/14—Tony Bruce, Jr. (Spring Nat. Prelim)
  77. 3/29/14—Patrick Stasa (3/22 Make up)
  78. 6/14/14—Seth Bergman (Speedweek)
  79. 10/17/14—Tony Bruce, Jr. (Winter Nat. Prelim)
  80. 10/18/14—Matt Covington (Winter Nat. Finale)
  81. 6/13/15 — Wayne Johnson (Speedweek)
  82. 10/16/15 — Wayne Johnson
  83. 10/17/15 — Sam Hafertepe, Jr.
  84. 3/19/16 — Wayne Johnson
  85. 10/14/16 — Johnny Herrera (Winter Nat. Prelim.)
  86. 10/15/16 — John Carney II (Winter Nat. Finale)
  87. 3/17/17 — Sam Hafertepe, Jr. (Spring Nat. Prelim.)
  88. 3/18/17 — Sam Hafertepe, Jr. (Spring Nat. Finale)
  89. 6/13/17 — Sam Hafertepe, Jr. (Speedweek)
  90. 10/20/17- John Carney II (Winter Nat. Prelim)
  91. 10/21/17 – Aaron Reutzel (Winter Nat. Finale)
  92. 3/16/18 – Roger Crockett (Sprint Nat.)
  93. 6/12/18 – Scott Bogucki (Speedweek)
  94. 6/4/19 – Travis Rilat (Speedweek)
  95. 10/18/19 — Sam Hafertepe, Jr. (Winter Nat. Prelim)
  96. 10/19/19 – Roger Crockett (Winter Nat. Finale)
  97. 10/16/20 — Sam Hafertepe, Jr. (Winter Nat. Prelim)
  98. 10/17/20 — Roger Crockett (Winter Nat. Finale)
  99. 3/19/21 — JJ Hickle (Spring Nat. Prelim)
  100. 3/20/21 — JJ Hickle (Spring Nat. Finale)
  101. 10/16/21 — JJ Hickle (Winter Nat. Finale)
  102. 3/18/22 — Wayne Johnson (Spring Nat. Prelim)
  103. 3/19/22 — Seth Bergman (Spring Nat. Finale)


Spread the love