Saturday Night Thunder at Virtual Dover International Speedway

Dover International Speedway

NASCAR and iRacing introduced Saturday Night Thunder in the beginning of April to allow drivers from all series to race during the real-time racing break. The inaugural event at Bristol Motor Speedway ARCA cars. This weekend’s race at virtual Dover will mark the fourth installment of the event and use NASCAR Xfinity Series cars including the Supra, Mustang and Camaro.

 The Saturday Night Thunder entry list includes drivers from the NASCAR Cup Series, NASCAR Xfinity Series, NASCAR Gander RV & Outdoors Truck Series, ARCA Menards Series, NASCAR PEAK Mexico Series and NASCAR Whelen Euro Series.  

This weekend Saturday Night Thunder will return for a 125-lap main feature at virtual Dover International Speedway.

 This weekend iRacing is also introducing webcams into the stream for the first time.

 The top-five finishers from last weekend’s race at virtual Talladega will start at the rear of the field (Landon Huffman, Josh Berry, Joe Graf Jr., Tommy Joe Martins, Spencer Boyd.) The field of drivers will have one hour-long practice and a one-lap, single-car qualifying effort.

 From there, the format will feature four 10-lap heat races with 12 cars possible in each heat. Six cars advance to the main event from each heat. There will also be one 15-lap last chance qualifier with two drivers transferring. In the case there are is an entry list of more than 40 drivers, there will be a second LCQ. The main event will have an entry list of 26 cars. The event will be live streamed at 8 p.m. ET on Saturday, May 2, on, and on NASCAR’s YouTube channel. 

The format will be as follows (all times ET): 7 p.m.: One-hour practice session8 p.m.: Stream starts on YouTube Channel

8:05 p.m.: Three-minute, one-lap single-car qualifying session. This will set the starting grid for the heats.8:08 p.m.:   

  • Heat 1 starts. All heats will be 10 laps with no cautions and one reset. There will be four heats and 20 cars will advance from each heat.
  • Top six drivers will advance depending on how many cars enter.
  •  Heats will set the starting grid for main race with a field of 26 cars.
  • Heats will be followed by a 15-lap last chance qualifier. There will only be a second one if over 40 cars are entered.
  • ·       Main event will be 125 laps with manual cautions and one reset. There will also be three attempts at a green-white-checkered finish.

Saturday Night Thunder
entry lists

Alex Labbe90
Angela Ruch00
Anthony Alfredo33
Austin Cindric22
Bayley Currey74
Blake Koch57
Brandon Brown68
Brett Moffitt23
Chase Briscoe98
Chase Cabre4
Christian Eckes81
CJ Mclaughlin39
Derek Kraus19
Donny Lia07
Drew Dollar015
Drew Herring3
Elliott Sadler099
Gus Dean56
Jeb Burton8
Jeffrey Earnhardt50
Jesse Iwuji36
Joe Graf Jr.80
Josh Berry88
Josh Bilicki99
Josh Williams92
Justin Allgaier7
Justin Haley11
Kaz Grala29
Landon Huffman75
Logan Seavey67
Matt Mills5
Michael Annett1
Myatt Snider93
Noah Gragson9
Raphael Lessard04
Ruben Garcia27
Ryan Ellis78
Ryan Truex40
Ryan Vargas51
Sam Mayer21
Scott Stenzel63
Sheldon Creed74
Spencer Boyd02
Stephen Leicht25
Stewart Friesen52
Thad Moffitt46
Todd Gilliland38
Tommy Joe Martin44
Ty Majeski45
Tyler Ankrum26
Will Rodgers55

Sharing is caring!