Will Power Paces Team Chevy at Detroit

Steve Fecht for Chevy Racing)

Will Power, driver of the No. 12 Verizon Team Penske Chevrolet, was slightly bumped during a multi-car wreck on the third turn of the first lap, but managed to stay out of the numerous frays the rest of the afternoon to finish in third place on the podium in the NTT IndyCar Series Chevrolet Detroit Grand Prix Dual in Detroit 2 on Sunday. 

It was quick turnaround for Power, who on Saturday lost a tire on pit road en route to an 18th-place finish in Dual 1. 

“I couldn’t believe it. An amazing day. I have to thank Chevy and Verizon for giving me a good car. I really thought we were done. I couldn’t shift. I tired to reset it and it stalled. Just a great recovery.,” said Power, who has two career victories on the street course on Belle Isle.

 Power is in sixth place in the standings. Points leader Joseph Newgarden (No. 2 Hitachi Chevrolet) won the pole, but was involved in a multi-car incident almost midway through the race and lost 22 laps. He finished 19th and his lead was reduced from 25 to 15 points over now second-place Alexander Rossi.

Newgarden’s Team Penske teammate Simon Pagenaud (No. 22 DXC Technology Chevrolet) dropped to third in the standings after damage relegated him to a 17th place finish. Newgarden, who was running third on lap 33 when the incident happened, entered the day with two wins and six top-five finishes in the first seven races.

 Pagenaud, Tony Kanaan (No. 14 ABC Supply Chevrolet) and Patricio O’Ward (No. 31 Carlin Chevrolet) all were involved in that first-lap wreck. It ended Kanaan’s day; Pagenaud later returned after repairs and finished 17th, 12 laps down, and O’Ward rallied to finish 11th and on the lead lap.

 Spencer Pigot (No. 21 Ed Carpenter Racing Chevrolet) got caught up in a race-ending incident on lap 14. 

Ed Jones (No. 20 Ed Carpenter Racing Scuderia Corsa Chevrolet, 14th place) and Max Chilton (No. 59 Gallagher Carlin Chevrolet, 14th place) also finished on the lead lap for Team Chevy.

Scott Dixon and Marcus Ericson (Honda) completed podium with one-two finishes respectively.

Next on the schedule is Saturday night, June 8, 2019 under the lights at Texas Motor Speedway.

Inside Track Communications PR

Sharing is caring!