Dashin’ At ‘Dega: Dash 4 Cash continues on the 2.66-mile behemoth

NKP #27: Jeb Burton, Jordan Anderson Racing, Solid Rock Carriers Chevrolet Camaro, #1: Sam Mayer, JR Motorsports, First Bank of Alabama Chevrolet Camaro, #9: Brandon Jones, JR Motorsports, Menards / Turtle Wax Chevrolet Camaro, #21: Austin Hill, Richard Childress Racing, Bennett / REALTREE Chevrolet Camaro

With the trip to Victory Lane at Texas Motor Speedway, Sam Mayer pocketed the $100,000 bonus and secured his spot in this weekend’s Dash 4 Cash run at Talladega Superspeedway, and will be joined by RSS Racing’s Ryan Sieg, JR Motorsport’s Justin Allgaier and Kaulig Racing’s AJ Allmendinger to compete in the third installment of Dash 4 Cash.

Of the four drivers vying for the Dash 4 Cash this weekend at Talladega, only one has a previous win at the superspeedway.

Sam Mayer (No. 1 JR Motorsport Chevrolet) has made four Xfinity Series starts at Talladega, putting up one top-five finish, but has three DNFs. He has also led five laps at the 2.66-mikle track. 

Ryan Sieg (No. 39 RSS Racing Chevrolet) has made 13 Xfinity Series starts at Talladega accumulating four top fives and five top 10s. Sieg has also led 31 laps at the track.

Justin Allgaier (No. 7 JR Motorsports Chevrolet) has made the most starts at Talladega among the four Dash 4 Cash drivers with 16. In that time, he put up four top fives, seven top 10s and led 112 laps. 

AJ Allmendinger (No. 16 Kaulig Racing Chevrolet) has made six Xfinity Series starts at Talladega posting one win (2022), three top fives and four top 10s. He has also led 36 laps at the superspeedway. 

Talladega Superspeedway up next

The action continues! After an exciting race at Texas Motor Speedway, the NASCAR Xfinity Series is gearing up to head to Talladega Superspeedway for the Ag-Pro 300 on Saturday, April 20 at 4 p.m. ET (FOX, MRN, and SiriusXM NASCAR radio).

The 2.66-mile Alabama track has hosted 35 Xfinity Series races, producing 28 different race winners and 23 different pole winners. Only three drivers have won from the pole or first starting position – Joe Nemechek (1998), Tony Stewart (2008), Justin Haley (2020).

Cup Series regular Martin Truex Jr. has the most Xfinity Series wins at Talladega (three) but it’s Joe Nemechek who holds the most records at the track – most poles (five), most top 10s (nine), laps led (202), lead lap finishes (14), laps completed (2,153), and is tied with Joey Logano for most top fives (seven). Nemechek also holds the qualifying record with his 1997 speed of 193.517 mph.

NASCAR Xfinity Series drivers will be skipping practice this weekend and heading straight for qualifying on Friday, April 19 at 5:30 p.m. ET on FS1.

Conquering ‘Dega

Making it to the finish line isn’t always easy when it comes to superspeedways. However, there are two drivers who have not only made it to the finish line but have made sure to cross the finish line first – Kaulig Racing’s AJ Allmendinger and Jordan Anderson Racing’s Jeb Burton.

Allmendinger snagged his win in 2022 after a back-and-forth battle with Sam Mayer in the final laps. He’s made six starts, posting one win, three top fives, four top 10s, and has led 36 laps. 

Burton has made seven starts at Talladega, making two trips to Victory Lane at Talladega (2021, 2023), three top fives, four top 10s, and has led 52 laps. If he manages another win this weekend, he will tie Martin Truex Jr. for most wins in the series at the track.

JR Motorsports’ Sam Mayer wins in a photo finish at Texas

The 2024 NASCAR season has been full of action-packed racing and some nail-biting finishes and last weekend’s Xfinity Series race at Texas Motor Speedway was no exception. 

Ryan Sieg led 17 of the final 18 laps but had to battle a hard-charging Sam Mayer at the end. Mayer ultimately crossed the finish line 0.002-seconds before Sieg – the second closest finish in Xfinity Series history. The win marked Mayer’s first of the 2024 season, first at Texas Motor Speedway and the fifth of his Xfinity Series career.

Twenty-year old Mayer will now be looking to keep the momentum rolling as the No. 1 team heads to Talladega Superspeedway this weekend for the Ag-Pro 300 but he’ll definitely have his work cut out for him as three out of his four starts at the 2.66-mile track have resulted in a DNF. However, he has proved that he can perform well as he posted a runner-up finish in 2022.

NASCAR Xfinity Series, Etc.

Sunoco Rookie of the Year update – The season is in full swing, and the 2024 rookie class has now gotten a taste of everything NASCAR has to offer.

Richard Childress Racing’s Jesse Love has led the competition all season long and continues to do so, currently sitting with 257 points.

Kaulig Racing’s Shane van Gisbergen sits in second with 175 points, 82 points back on Love.

Leland Honeyman Jr. holds the third position with 114 points.

Hailie Deegan and Dawson Cram close out the competition, with 90 points and 50 points, respectively.


Spread the love