ARCA Menards Series at Talladega Superspeedway: General Tire 200 Pre-race Notes

Talladega Superspeedway
  • The General Tire 200 is the third of 20 races for the ARCA Menards Series in 2024; it is the series’ 62nd race at Talladega Superspeedway and 1,556th race in series history.
  • Previous ARCA Menards Series winners at Talladega Superspeedway include Jim Vandiver (1969, 1975), Ramo Stott (1970, 1970), Johnny Halford (1976), Ron Hutcherson (1977), Bruce Hill (1978), Sandy Satullo (1979), Billie Harvey (1980), Mark Martin (1981), Jimmy Vaughn (1982), Rick Roland (1982), Davey Allison (1983, 1983, 1984, 1985), Red Farmer (1984, 1988), Grant Adcox (1986, 1986, 1987, 1987, 1988), Tracy Leslie (1989, 1989), Jimmy Horton (1990, 1991), Charlie Glotzbach (1990, 1991, 1992), Tim Steele (1993, 1996, 1997, 1998), Jeff Purvis (1994), Mike Wallace (1995), Bob Strait (1999), David Keith (2000), Bobby Gerhart (2001), Keith Segars (2002), Paul Menard (2003), Blake Feese (2004), Kraig Kinser (2005), Frank Kimmel (2006, 2013), Michael Annett (2007), Justin Allgaier (2008), Justin Lofton (2009), Dakoda Armstrong (2010), Ty Dillon (2011), Brandon McReynolds (2012), Tom Hessert III (2014), Blake Jones (2015), Gus Dean (2016), Justin Haley (2017), Zane Smith (2018), Todd Gilliland (2019), Drew Dollar (2020), Corey Heim (2021), Nick Sanchez (2022), and Jesse Love (2023).
  • There have been 17 consecutive ARCA Menards Series races at Talladega Superspeedway without a repeat winner. The last driver to repeat at Talladega was Frank Kimmel, who won in 2006 and 2013.
  • Nineteen drivers earned their first ARCA Menards Series victory at Talladega Superspeedway: Jim Vandiver, Johnny Halford, Bruce Hill, Sandy Satullo, Billie Harvey, Mark Martin, Jimmy Vaughn, Rick Roland, Davey Allison, Tim Steele, Keith Segars, Paul Menard, Kraig Kinser, Michael Annett, Dakoda Armstrong, Brandon McReynolds, Blake Jones, Gus Dean, and Drew Dollar. For Halford, Hill, Satullo, Martin, Vaughn, Roland, Segars, Menard, Kinser, McReynolds, Jones, and Dollar, it was their only career series win.
  • Gus Dean will make his first series start since winning the season-opener at Daytona International Speedway. He is the only previous Talladega winner (2016) entered.
  • Thomas Annunziata, who finished second at Daytona in his series debut, will make his second series start at Talladega. He will return to the cockpit of the Jeff McClure-owned No. 44 Chevrolet.
  • Greg Van Alst returns to Talladega for the first time since being injured in a crash in the NASCAR Craftsman Truck Series race at the track last fall. Van Alst, who won at Daytona in 2023 and finished third in the 2024 season opener, leads the series standings by five points over Christian Rose.
  • Hollywood superstar-turned-racecar driver Frankie Muniz is slated to return to the ARCA Menards Series for the first time in 2024 in the Rette Jones Racing No. 30 Ford. Muniz finished ninth at Talladega in 2023.
  • Tim Richmond will make his second start of 2024 and his first since he started on the front row and earned a career-best fifth-place finish at Daytona.
  • Starting positions 1-36 for the General Tire 200 will be set via final 2023 ARCA Menards Series owner points. Positions 37-40, if needed, will be set by practice speeds.
  • Two-time ARCA Menards Series champion Bill Venturini holds the track qualifying record at Talladega Superspeedway, set in 1987, at 46.614 seconds/205.432 miles per hour.
  • The ARCA Menards Series race record at Talladega Superspeedway is held by Drew Dollar, set in 2020, at 1 hour, 11 minutes, 22 seconds/169.962 miles per hour.
  • The race will be run under the Modified Live pit stop format. Every caution is an opportunity to pit, and drivers who do choose to pit will realign behind the drivers who do not elect to make a pit stop in the order they entered pit road in the following order: lead lap cars that did not make a pit stop, lead lap cars that made a pit stop on their scheduled lap, lapped cars that did not make a pit stop, lapped cars that made a pit stop, free pass recipient, wave-around cars, and cars under penalty. A team can change tires and add fuel on the same pit stop, but not simultaneously. Tires can be changed under green only if damaged and approved by an official; fuel is not to be added under green.
  • The record for most lead changes in an ARCA Menards Series race at Talladega Superspeedway is 23 set in May 1985 in a race won by Davey Allison.
  • The record for the most cautions in an ARCA Menards Series race at Talladega Superspeedway is 9 for a record 56 laps set in 2000 in a race won by David Keith. The fewest cautions in an ARCA Menards Series race at Talladega is one, in 2014 and tied in 2020; the fewest caution laps was two in 2020.
  • The record for the closest finish in ARCA Menards Series history was set at Talladega Superspeedway in 2018 when Zane Smith defeated Joe Graf, Jr. in a statistical dead heat. The scoring monitor read a 0.000 second margin of victory and the race was decided by video replay.
  • Should the race need to be extended into overtime, there will be one attempt at a one-lap “green and white together” finish. Should the caution be displayed any time on the final lap before the field receives the checkered flag, the field will be frozen and the race will be over.


Spread the love