Hendrick Motorsports to celebrate organization’s 40th anniversary at Martinsville

Nigel Kinrade

Founded by NASCAR Hall of Fame owner Rick Hendrick in 1984, Hendrick Motorsports is the winningest team in NASCAR Cup Series history with all-time records of 304 points-paying race victories and 14 championships. The organization holds almost every major statistical record at NASCAR’s top level, including pole positions, top-10 finishes, top fives and laps led.

“When I think back on our story, I have a hard time believing it myself,” Hendrick said. “In 1984, we had five employees, 5,000 square feet of rented space and a lot of desire to make it work. I dreamed of one day winning a race, but I never imagined it would grow into what it is now. Every bit of success we’ve had is due to the contributions of our people and the incredible support we’ve received over 40 years. We’re here because of the commitment, the passion and the sacrifices made by so many. It’s been an incredible ride, and we’re just getting started.”

In the eighth race of the 1984 season at Martinsville Speedway, driver Geoff Bodine recorded Hendrick Motorsports’ first Cup Series win, which kept owner Hendrick from shutting down the fledgling team. To celebrate the 40th anniversary of that key victory, this week Hendrick Motorsports will run four ruby red paint schemes in the Cook Out 400 on April 7 (3 p.m. ET on FS1, MRN and SiriusXM NASCAR Radio) at Martinsville – the eighth race of 2024:

  • Kyle Larson’s No. 5 HendrickCars.com Chevrolet Camaro ZL1
  • Chase Elliott’s No. 9 UniFirst Chevrolet Camaro ZL1
  • William Byron’s No. 24 Axalta Chevrolet Camaro ZL1
  • Alex Bowman’s No. 48 Ally Chevrolet Camaro ZL1

In addition, the celebration will also include Rick Hendrick serving as the honorary pace car driver for the Cup race, and Geoff Bodine and nine-time Martinsville Speedway winner Jeff Gordon as the event’s Grand Marshals.

Hendrick Motorsports has fielded only Chevrolet race cars in the Cup Series since it was established and has 28 Cup-level victories among nine drivers at Martinsville – Jeff Gordon (nine), Jimmie Johnson (nine), Darrell Waltrip (four), Geoff Bodine (one), Dale Earnhardt Jr. (one), Chase Elliott (one), Alex Bowman (one), William Byron (one) and Kyle Larson (one), which is the all-time record for team wins at a single track.


Spread the love