NXS History at the Homestead-Miami Speedway

LAT Images

Saturday’s Contender Boats 250 at Homestead-Miami Speedway will be the 28th NASCAR Xfinity Series race held at the 1.5-mile track.

Last season, Harrison Burton won the first race at Homestead-Miami, leading only the final two laps before taking home his second career victory.

Chase Briscoe went on to win the second race at the Florida track after leading only 11 laps. Noah Gragson in the No. 9 JR Motorsports Chevrolet led a race-high 81 laps and ended up finishing fifth.

Brandon Jones finished second, while Ross Chastain finished third and AJ Allmendinger finished fourth.

The race had six cautions for 28 laps and 20 lead changes. The Margin of Victory was .072 seconds.

The inaugural NASCAR Xfinity Series race at Homestead-Miami was on November 5, 1995 where Dale Jarrett took home the win and Joe Nemechek won the pole award.

There have been 20 different pole winners and 20 different race winners at the track in the Xfinity Series.

Burton’s win last season made him the youngest series winner at the track (19 years, 8 months, four days).

Tyler Reddick holds the race record from November 17, 2018 at 140.515 mph.

There have been five races won from the pole and or first starting position.

Joe Nemechek holds the record for the most races run at Homestead in the Xfinity Series (19). Kyle Busch, Jeff Green, Brad Keselowski, Joey Logano and Tyler Reddick are all tired for the most pole wins (2). Joe Nemechek also holds the record for the most wins at the track (3). Kyle Busch and Mark Martin are tied for the most top fives (7) and Matt Kenseth has the most top 10s (10). Kyle Busch has led the most laps at Homestead-Miami with 487.

Three drivers in history got their first Xfinity Series career win at the track: Cole Custer (2017), Kasey Kahne (2003) and Regan Smith (2012).

Most recent numbers at Homestead-Miami Speedway:

  • There were 20 lead changes and eight different leaders in the most recent race at the track.
  • There were six cautions for 28 laps and only nine cars finishing on the lead lap.
  • There were 31 total cars running at the finish.
  • The winner led only 11 laps.

Spread the love