Copper Classic Prelim Goes To Kyle Larson With The ASCS Southwest Region

Image Credit: Ben Thrasher

Taking advantage of the Heat/Qualifier format to its full extent on Night 1 of the fifth annual Copper Classic at Arizona Speedway, California’s Kyle Larson grabbed win No. 44 on the 2020 season, along with his second career triumph with the ASCS Southwest Region.
Drawing 100 to set his Heat Race lineup, Larson’s Qualifier performance sent him from 19th in passing points to earing the right of the front row in Friday’s 25-lap feature event.
Taking a shot at the lead on the start, Rico Abreu rolled the bottom on Larson and Carson Macedo with the No. 57 diamonding the first two turns to the lead down the back straightaway with Macedo second.Red working Lap 4 for Brock Zearfoss, who went for a ride exiting the second turn, the field reverted to Lap 3 on the restart with Larson again taking off with the lead as Rico set sights on second, but could not hold the spot as Buddy Kofoid and Colton Hardy pounced on the No. 24 with Kofoid taking third.
By a half stretch as the race passed Lap 10, Larson began working slower traffic. Held up by the backmarkers, Macedo closed rapidly. Taking advantage, the No. 21 shot to the lead on Lap 12, but it was short-lived as Larson reclaimed the point the following lap. Moving in on the pair during the exchange, Buddy Kofoid was able to take second on Lap 14.
Pulling away by a half-second, Larson was not out of the woods as traffic came back into play with five laps to go. Finally clearing the slower machines, Larson was unstoppable with an advantage of 2.050-seconds at the finish.
Carson Macedo worked back to second in the closing laps, with Buddy Kofoid taking third. Rico Abreu crossed fourth with Arizona’s Colton Hardy in fifth. California’s D.J. Netto was sixth with Garet Williamson seventh. Justin Sanders, Devon Borden, and J.J. Hickle made up the top ten.
The Copper Classic continues Saturday, November 28, with racing getting underway at 6:00 P.M. (MT). Admission is $25 for adults and $10 for youth 7-12. Pit Passes are $40.
Fans not able to attend can see all the action live on
Arizona Speedway is located at 47346 N Ironwood Rd. More information on the facility can be found online at as well as on Facebook at Fans can also email [email protected] or call (480) 926-6688.
For other news, notes, and information on the American Sprint Car Series, from the National Tour to any of the nine Regional Tours that make up ASCS Nation in 2020, log onto, follow on Facebook, on Instagram, and Twitter (@LucasOilASCS).
Race Results:
ASCS Southwest RegionArizona Speedway (Queen Creek, Ariz.)5th annual Copper Classic (Night 1)Friday, November 27, 2020
Car Count: 54
Heat Races (Top 30 in Passing Points advance to Qualifiers)
Heat 1 (8 Laps): 1. 19-Colby Thornhill[1]; 2. 46JR-Joel Myers Jr[2]; 3. 5T-Ryan Timms[8]; 4. 8Z-Brock Zearfoss[6]; 5. 2B-Billy Chester III[5]; 6. 56-Sammy Swindell[7]; 7. 67-Brian Thomas[3]; 8. 1B-Brenham Crouch[4]; 9. 20G-Noah Gass[9]
Heat 2 (8 Laps): 1. 21-Carson Macedo[3]; 2. 8-Devon Borden[5]; 3. 2-Alex Pettas[1]; 4. 01-Mitchel Moles[2]; 5. 47-Charles Davis Jr[4]; 6. 16A-Justin Sanders[9]; 7. 1X-Robbie Price[8]; 8. 131-Royal Jones[6]; 9. 40X-Mike Archuleta[7]
Heat 3 (8 Laps): 1. 2XM-Max Mittry[2]; 2. 2X-Chase Majdic[4]; 3. 24-Rico Abreu[5]; 4. 14T-Tim Estenson[1]; 5. 29-Jeff Oliver[3]; 6. 5C-Colby Copeland[7]; 7. 9-Dustin Freitas[6]; 8. 7K-Mason Keefer[9]; 9. 5K-Patrick Krob[8]
Heat 4 (8 Laps): 1. 4-Logan Calderwood[1]; 2. 7Z-Zane Blanchard[3]; 3. 9R-Reece Goetz[6]; 4. 1-Dylan Harris[5]; 5. 88N-DJ Netto[9]; 6. 19AZ-Spencer Bayston[4]; 7. 5H-Michael Faccinto[8]; 8. 7-Gary Taylor[7]; 9. 6-Jett Carney[2]
Heat 5 (8 Laps): 1. 19A-Buddy Kofoid[3]; 2. 01X-John Carney[2]; 3. 24W-Garet Williamson[4]; 4. 13-Tim Kaeding[9]; 5. 5V-Kalib Henry[5]; 6. 22B-Jesse Baker[1]; 7. 115-Nick Parker[8]; 8. 12JG-Josh Grady[6]; 9. 50S-Rocky Silva[7]
Heat 6 (8 Laps): 1. 83T-Tanner Carrick[2]; 2. 41-Colton Hardy[4]; 3. 38B-Blake Carrick[1]; 4. 63-JJ Hickle[7]; 5. 57-Kyle Larson[9]; 6. 91-Chase Goetz[6]; 7. 18-Lorne Wofford[3]; 8. 17C-Chris Bullock[8]; 9. 12J-John Clark[5]
Qualifiers (Top 16 in combined Passing Points advance to the A-Feature)
Qualifier 1 (10 Laps): 1. 57-Kyle Larson[7]; 2. 46JR-Joel Myers Jr[1]; 3. 16A-Justin Sanders[9]; 4. 9R-Reece Goetz[3]; 5. 8-Devon Borden[5]; 6. 13-Tim Kaeding[4]; 7. 5T-Ryan Timms[6]; 8. 1-Dylan Harris[8]; 9. 7Z-Zane Blanchard[2]; 10. 2B-Billy Chester III[10]
Qualifier 2 (10 Laps): 1. 24-Rico Abreu[2]; 2. 21-Carson Macedo[6]; 3. 01X-John Carney[1]; 4. 24W-Garet Williamson[7]; 5. 2X-Chase Majdic[4]; 6. 5V-Kalib Henry[10]; 7. 2XM-Max Mittry[5]; 8. 19-Colby Thornhill[3]; 9. 01-Mitchel Moles[9]; 10. 2-Alex Pettas[8]
Qualifier 3 (10 Laps): 1. 88N-DJ Netto[1]; 2. 41-Colton Hardy[4]; 3. 63-JJ Hickle[2]; 4. 19A-Buddy Kofoid[6]; 5. 8Z-Brock Zearfoss[7]; 6. 83T-Tanner Carrick[5]; 7. 38B-Blake Carrick[8]; 8. 14T-Tim Estenson[9]; 9. 47-Charles Davis Jr[10]; 10. 4-Logan Calderwood[3]
B-Features (Top 4 from each advance)
B Feature 1 (12 Laps): 1. 38B-Blake Carrick[3]; 2. 2XM-Max Mittry[2]; 3. 5C-Colby Copeland[8]; 4. 5T-Ryan Timms[1]; 5. 01-Mitchel Moles[6]; 6. 29-Jeff Oliver[9]; 7. 1-Dylan Harris[4]; 8. 14T-Tim Estenson[5]; 9. 20G-Noah Gass[16]; 10. 7-Gary Taylor[14]; 11. 2-Alex Pettas[7]; 12. 115-Nick Parker[11]; 13. 12JG-Josh Grady[15]; 14. 7K-Mason Keefer[12]; 15. 12J-John Clark[18]; 16. 40X-Mike Archuleta[17]; 17. 67-Brian Thomas[13]; 18. (DNF) 1X-Robbie Price[10]
B Feature 2 (12 Laps): 1. 13-Tim Kaeding[1]; 2. 5V-Kalib Henry[2]; 3. 19-Colby Thornhill[3]; 4. 19AZ-Spencer Bayston[11]; 5. 56-Sammy Swindell[8]; 6. 2B-Billy Chester III[7]; 7. 7Z-Zane Blanchard[4]; 8. 5H-Michael Faccinto[10]; 9. 17C-Chris Bullock[14]; 10. 18-Lorne Wofford[13]; 11. 1B-Brenham Crouch[16]; 12. 6-Jett Carney[19]; 13. 9-Dustin Freitas[12]; 14. 131-Royal Jones[15]; 15. 4-Logan Calderwood[5]; 16. 47-Charles Davis Jr[6]; 17. 50S-Rocky Silva[18]; 18. 5K-Patrick Krob[17]; 19. (DNF) 91-Chase Goetz[9]; 20. (DNF) 22B-Jesse Baker[20]
A Feature (25 Laps): 1. 57-Kyle Larson[2]; 2. 21-Carson Macedo[1]; 3. 19A-Buddy Kofoid[5]; 4. 24-RicoAbreu[4]; 5. 41-Colton Hardy[3]; 6. 88N-DJ Netto[7]; 7. 24W-Garet Williamson[8]; 8. 16A-Justin Sanders[6]; 9. 8-Devon Borden[10]; 10. 63-JJ Hickle[12]; 11. 19AZ-Spencer Bayston[24]; 12. 2X-Chase Majdic[14]; 13. 46JR-Joel Myers Jr[9]; 14. 9R-Reece Goetz[11]; 15. 38B-Blake Carrick[17]; 16. 13-Tim Kaeding[18]; 17. 5V-Kalib Henry[20]; 18. 83T-Tanner Carrick[16]; 19. 01X-John Carney[13]; 20. 5C-Colby Copeland[21]; 21. 5T-Ryan Timms[23]; 22. 2XM-Max Mittry[19]; 23. (DNF) 19-Colby Thornhill[22]; 24. (DNF) 8Z-Brock Zearfoss[15]


Spread the love