Davenport Back in Lucas Oil Victory Lane with Win at Ponderosa Speedway

Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Photo

Jonathan Davenport notched his third Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series win of the season on Friday Night at Ponderosa Speedway. Davenport, the 3-time and reigning series champion, led all the way in winning the 16th Annual John Bradshaw Memorial and earning his 50th career LOLMDS win.

 Billy Moyer Jr. finished in second to equal his best career LOLMDS finish. Mike Marlar made a late-race charge on the outside to claim third. Zack Dohm came home fourth with Tim McCreadie coming from 12th to place fifth. 

Davenport took the lead at the start of the race with Jimmy Owens hot on his heels until the first caution of the race came out with 14 laps scored. The race then saw a long-stretch of green-flag racing as Owens and Moyer Jr. diced it up for second for several laps. A caution with 38 laps scored allowed for a clear track in front of Davenport.

   The battle for second saw Moyer Jr. clear Owens. Owens faded to sixth with 12 laps remaining. The final caution appeared with four laps to go, setting up a single-file restart. Davenport opened up breathing room as he flashed across the finish line, beating Moyer Jr. by 1.3 seconds in the final results.

 Davenport, who raced at Ponderosa a few weeks ago on an off-weekend for the LOLMDS made it two-for-two in his trips over the last month to the Central Kentucky bullring. “Man, it’s been a struggle here for sure. We have had some really good years. We just try to not let the lows get too low. I’ve got to give this win to my guys. They have been working their tails off. Man, I cherish these wins. I didn’t know when I was going to get another one.

” Moyer Jr. stayed in the hunt the entire distance and earned yet another podium finish with the series this year. “Congrats to Jonathan on the win. We have a new Capital piece that Marshall Green put together. I know I say it all the time, but those guys are great to work with. We made some changes after hot laps and it turned our night around. So all-in-all in turned out to be a good night.” 

Marlar came on strong near the end to challenge for the runner-up position. “I was trying to put on a show for the fans. I was really wanting to win one so close to my home. The track was awesome out there tonight, we could move around a little bit. I needed a few more things to go my way on the restarts, but we had a good car at the end for sure.” 

The winner’s Lance Landers Motorsports Longhorn Chassis is powered by a Cornett Racing Engine and sponsored by Nutrien Ag Solutions, Spartan Mowers, Lucas Oil Products, Penske Shocks, VP Fuels, ASC Warranty, and Midwest Sheet Metal.

 Completing the top ten were Tyler Erb, Jimmy Owens, Kyle Strickler, Hudson O’Neal, and Kyle Bronson.

Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series 
Race Summary 
16th Annual John Bradshaw Memorial 
Friday, September 4th, 2020
Ponderosa Speedway – Junction City, KY
Lucas Oil Time Trials
Fast Time Group A: Jonathan Davenport / 13.696 seconds (overall)
Fast Time Group B: David Webb / 13.743 seconds 

Penske Race Shocks Heat Race #1 Finish (10 Laps, Top 4 Transfer): 1. 49-Jonathan Davenport[1]; 2. 17D-Zack Dohm[3]; 3. 25-Shane Clanton[2]; 4. D8-Dustin Linville[5]; 5. 97-Michael Chilton[4]; 6. 11B-Tommy Bailey[7]; 7. 1GK-Ryan King[6]; 8. 18-David Seibers[8]

FK Rod Ends Heat Race #2 Finish (10 Laps, Top 4 Transfer): 1. 21-Billy Moyer Jr[2]; 2. 157-Mike Marlar[3]; 3. 1T-Tyler Erb[1]; 4. 11H-Jared Hawkins[5]; 5. 9-Devin Moran[4]; 6. 12J-Jason Jameson[6]; 7. 4G-Kody Evans[7]

Simpson Race Products Heat Race #3 Finish (10 Laps, Top 4 Transfer): 1. 20-Jimmy Owens[2]; 2. 13W-David Webb[1]; 3. 81E-Tanner English[5]; 4. 14-Josh Richards[4]; 5. 57M-Cameron Marlar[7]; 6. 1-Earl Pearson Jr[3]; 7. 2S-Stormy Scott[6]; 8. 9G-Larry Greer[8]

Ohlins Shocks Heat Race #4 Finish (10 Laps, Top 4 Transfer): 1. 8-Kyle Strickler[1]; 2. 40B-Kyle Bronson[3]; 3. 39-Tim McCreadie[5]; 4. 71-Hudson O’Neal[2]; 5. 1G-Devin Gilpin[4]; 6. 16-Tyler Bruening[6]; 7. 16R-Justin Rattliff[7]

Tiger Rear Ends B-Main #1 Finish (12 Laps, Top 6 Transfer): 1. 97-Michael Chilton[1]; 2. 57M-Cameron Marlar[2]; 3. 9-Devin Moran[3]; 4. 1G-Devin Gilpin[4]; 5. 12J-Jason Jameson[7]; 6. 1-Earl Pearson Jr[6]; 7. 11B-Tommy Bailey[5]; 8. 1GK-Ryan King[9]; 9. 16-Tyler Bruening[8]; 10. 16R-Justin Rattliff[12]; 11. 4G-Kody Evans[11]; 12. 2S-Stormy Scott[10]; 13. 18-David Seibers[13]; 14. 9G-Larry Greer[14]

Lucas Oil Feature Finish (50 Laps): 

PosStartCar #CompetitorHometownPay
1149Jonathan DavenportBlairsville, GA$12,000
2321Billy Moyer JrBatesville, AR$5,500
37157Mike MarlarWinfield, TN$3,500
4517DZack DohmCross Lanes, WV$2,750
51239Tim McCreadieWatertown, NY$2,250
6111TTyler ErbNew Waverly, TX$1,800
7220Jimmy OwensNewport, TN$1,500
848Kyle StricklerMooresville, NC$1,300
91671Hudson O’NealMartinsville, IN$1,200
10840BKyle BronsonBrandon, FL$1,100
111081ETanner EnglishBenton, KY$1,075
121414Josh RichardsShinnston, WV$1,050
131797Michael ChiltonSalvisa, KY$1,025
141511HJared HawkinsFairmont, WV$1,000
15199Devin MoranDresden, OH$1,000
162316Tyler BrueningDecorah, IA$1,000
172112JJason JamesonLawrenceburg, IN$1,000
18221Earl Pearson JrJacksonville, FL$1,000
19925Shane ClantonZebulon, GA$1,000
20613WDavid WebbNicholasville, KY$1,000
2113D8Dustin LinvilleLancaster, KY$1,000
221857MCameron MarlarWinfield, TN$1,000
23201GDevin GilpinColumbus, IN$1,000
24242SStormy ScottLas Cruces, NM$1,000

Race Statistics
: 30
Lap Leaders: Jonathan Davenport (Laps 1 – 50)
Wrisco Feature Winner: Jonathan Davenport
Margin of Victory: 1.383 seconds
Cautions: Stormy Scott (Lap 14); Dustin Linville (Lap 38); Earl Pearson Jr., Shane Clanton (Lap 46)
Series Provisionals: Tyler Bruening, Stormy Scott
Fast Time Provisional: n/a
Series Emergency Provisionals: n/a
Track Provisionals: n/a
Big River Steel Podium Top 3: Jonathan Davenport, Billy Moyer Jr., Mike Marlar
Optima Batteries Hard Charger of the Race: Tim McCreadie (Advanced 7 Positions) 
Midwest Sheet Metal Spoiler Challenge Point Leader: Jimmy Owens
Allstar Performance Most Laps Led: Jonathan Davenport (50 Laps)
Sunoco Race for Gas Highest Finisher: Billy Moyer Jr.
Eibach Springs Rookie of the Race: Tanner English
ARP Engine Builder of the Race: Cornett Racing Engines
Miller Welders Chassis Builder of the Race: Longhorn Chassis
Outerwears Crew Chief of the Race: Jason Durham (Jonathan Davenport)
Dirty Girl Racewear Fastest Lap of the Race: Jonathan Davenport (Lap #2 – 14.039 seconds)
STEEL-IT Tough Break of the Race: Stormy Scott
PFC Brakes Pole Award: Jonathan Davenport
Time of Race: 18 minutes 42 seconds

Lucas Oil Point Standings:

PosCar #CompetitorHometownPointsPay
120Jimmy OwensNewport, TN6870$224,500
239Tim McCreadieWatertown, NY6335$171,100
349Jonathan DavenportBlairsville, GA6210$126,400
414Josh RichardsShinnston, WV6115$100,475
51TTyler ErbNew Waverly, TX6050$106,084
625Shane ClantonZebulon, GA5755$86,400
79Devin MoranDresden, OH5680$78,407
840BKyle BronsonBrandon, FL5680$80,425
921Billy Moyer JrBatesville, AR5485$72,625
1081ETanner EnglishBenton, KY5355$52,675
111Earl Pearson JrJacksonville, FL5260$83,325
1216Tyler BrueningDecorah, IA4790$35,575
1350Shanon BuckinghamMorristown, TN4640$55,350
1471Hudson O’NealMartinsville, IN4460$40,475
152sStormy ScottLas Cruces, NM4410$30,750

*Results are unofficial until Close of Business on the Tuesday following Race Day*

Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series PR
Spread the love