Toyota Captures Sixth-Straight Formula DRIFT Manufacturer Title

Toyota Racing

Toyota secured its sixth-consecutive Formula DRIFT (FD) manufacturer championship following the penultimate event of the eight-race season, which took place at Texas Motor Speedway on Saturday night.

This year’s title was captured on the strength of two wins, five podium finishes and 20 top-16 showings by Toyota drivers over the first seven events of the season. Two different drivers, in two unique Toyota vehicles, secured the 2019 victories. Fredric Aasbø drove the Toyota Corolla Hatchback to a win in Atlanta while Ryan Tuerck brought his Toyota 86 to the winner’s circle in New Jersey.

“It’s a special feeling to go into a race weekend near Toyota’s North American headquarters knowing there is a chance we could bring home our sixth-straight manufacturer championship,” said Aasbø, the 2015 Formula D champion and series’ all-time wins leader. “To be able to clinch it here, before the end of the season, is fantastic. I’ve been a part of all six of these championship wins, and it’s a testament to the strength of the Toyota vehicles and their ability to handle the punishment we give them week after week, and still come out on top every year.”

Since the inception of the FD manufacturer championship in 2014, Toyota has swept all six titles: Scion (2014-2016) and Toyota (2017-2019). This year, Toyota drivers have competed in two different vehicle styles with Aasbø’s Corolla Hatchback fielded by Papadakis Racing and the Toyota 86 fielded by Ken Gushi (GReddy Racing), Jhonnattan Castro (Papadakis Racing) and Tuerck (Race Service).

“We’re thrilled to have secured Toyota’s sixth Formula DRIFT manufacturers’ title,” said Laura Pierce, motorsports general manager for Toyota Motor North America (TMNA). “For over a decade, Formula DRIFT has been an extraordinary platform for Toyota to showcase some of our best vehicles – including the Toyota Corolla Hatchback and Toyota 86. We are proud of our teams and drivers who have helped us sweep every manufacturers’ title since the award was created six years ago.”

Toyota has competed in FD since 2008 when Scion entered the series. Toyota drivers have combined for 18 victories in 12 seasons.

Toyota Racing PR

Spread the love