Seavey Dominates Macon, Closes in On POWRi Record

Toyota Racing

Logan Seavey took the lead on lap nine of 30 and never looked back on the way to a dominating win in Saturday’s POWRi Lucas Oil National Midget League feature at Macon Speedway. The victory is Seavey’s tenth of the year in POWRi competition. He is now just one shy of Christopher Bell’s series single-season record of 11 set in 2014.

Overall, Seavey has registered 14 national midget feature wins in 2019, while Toyota-powered drivers have gone to the winner’s circle 34 times in national midget car competition this year.

After a pair of early first-lap cautions, the third time proved to the charm for 16-year-old Cannon McIntosh as he moved past Tanner Carrick to lead lap one with Seavey in third.

McIntosh would maintain the point position early, while Seavey would move to the bottom to overtake Carrick for second on lap three. As Seavey continued to move forward, the action began to heat up as he and McIntosh battled for the top spot with Jake Neuman joining the battle after taking third.

On lap six, McIntosh and Seavey would go side-by-side for the lead with the two Toyotas making contact, but McIntosh would maintain the top spot, followed by Seavey, Neuman, Carrick, Zach Daum and Jesse Colwell.

Finally, on lap nine, Seavey was able to clear McIntosh for the lead and quickly began to pull away from the field. Two laps later, Neuman would go high to overtake McIntosh for second. 

As the race moved past the midway point, Seavey stretched his lead out to over a full straightaway. As the laps continued to wind down Seavey had pulled out to more than a second-and-a-half lead and the focus turned to the battle for third between Carrick and McIntosh, with McIntosh reclaiming the position on lap 28.

At the checkered flag, it was Seavey, followed by Neuman, McIntosh, Carrick, Daum, Colwell and Holley Hollan as Toyota drivers earned six of the top seven finishing positions. The victory was Seavey’s third in the last four POWRi events.

With his sixth-place showing, Colwell continues to lead the POWRi point standings by 170 points over Daum with just seven races remaining. 

Next up for the POWRi Lucas Oil National Midget League is an Oct. 4-5 doubleheader at Jacksonville Speedway.

Toyota Macon Speedway Results

Logan Seavey – 1st

Cannon McIntosh – 3rd

Tanner Carrick – 4th

Zach Daum – 5th

Jesse Colwell – 6th

Holley Hollan – 7th

Daison Pursley – 12th

Jesse Love – 13th

POWRi  Point Standings 

1. Jesse Colwell – 6090

2. Zach Daum – 5920

3. Jake Neuman – 5180

4. Holley Hollan – 5150

5. Daison Pursley – 5020

*Toyota Drivers in Bold

Toyota Racing PR

Spread the love