Chevrolet Captures 2017 Verizon IndyCar Series Manufacturer Championship

For the sixth consecutive season, Chevrolet has won the Verizon IndyCar Series (VISC) Manufacturer Championship. The Bowtie Brand has captured the title every season since returning to IndyCar competition in 2012.

The Chevrolet 2.2 liter twin turbocharged direct injected V6 IndyCar engine program combined with the Chevrolet Aero Kit to produce 10 poles and ­­­9 wins in 16 of 17 events heading into Sunday’s season finale at Sonoma Raceway.

“Preparation, teamwork and great execution were again fundamental to every pole, every win and this championship.” said Mark Reuss, Executive Vice President, Global Product Development, Purchasing and Supply Chain. “Thank you to Team Penske, Ed Carpenter Racing, AJ Foyt Racing and our technical partners for their combined efforts that culminated in Chevrolet’s sixth consecutive Verizon IndyCar Series Manufacturer’s Championship.”

In the six seasons of the Chevrolet V6 IndyCar program, Team Chevy drivers have amassed 66 wins of the 100 races run to-date. Additionally, drivers powered by Chevrolet  have scored 59% of the possible podium finishing positions and captured 73% of the Verizon P1 Pole Awards. 

The 2017 Manufacturer Championship clearly demonstrated the never-give-up attitude of Chevrolet, its team and technical partners. Chevrolet proudly fielded eight full-time entries during the 17-race season. Despite having just 38% of the total car count, the Chevy teams and drivers captured victories in 56% of the races plus 24 podium finishes and 10 poles.

All of Chevrolet’s full-time IndyCar teams contributed valuable points toward the sixth consecutive VICS Manufacturer Title. Team Penske, with drivers Simon Pagenaud, Will Power, Helio Castroneves and Josef Newgarden; Ed Carpenter Racing, with drivers JR Hildebrand, Ed Carpenter and Spencer Pigot and AJ Foyt Racing drivers Conor Daly and Carlos Munoz were instrumental in Chevy’s success.

“Winning Chevrolet’s sixth consecutive Verizon IndyCar Series Manufacturer Championship has been a true team effort by our Chevrolet engineers, race teams and partners at Ilmor Engineering, Pratt & Miller Engineering and Hitachi Automotive Systems,” said Mark Kent, Director of Motorsports Competition – Chevrolet. “The balanced performance delivered by Chevrolet’s 2.2 liter twin turbo direct injected V6 engine and Aero Kit has proven throughout the season to be the right combination for our teams to win races and ultimately, this championship.”

Since 2012, in addition to the six consecutive VISC Manufacturer Championships, Chevrolet has won four drivers championships with drivers Ryan Hunter-Reay (2012), Power (2014), Scott Dixon (2015) and Pagenaud (2016) and has four drivers in contention to win the crown in 2017. Additionally Chevrolet has won the Indianapolis 500 with Tony Kanaan (2013) and Juan Pablo Montoya (2015). Previously, Chevrolet competed in Indy-style racing as a manufacturer of V8 engines from 1986-93 and 2002-05, powering 111 wins, one manufacturer championship in 2002, seven Indianapolis 500 wins and six driver championships.

Team Chevy PR

Spread the love