ARCA Menards Series West at Phoenix Raceway: Desert Diamond Casino West Valley 100 Post-race Notes

NKP #18: William Sawalich, Starkey-Sound Gear Toyota Camry

  • Sean Hingorani finished third to clinch the 2023 ARCA Menards Series West championship. He becomes the 42nd driver in series history dating to 1954 to win at least one West championship. 
  • Based on Kaden Honeycutt’s ninth-place finish, No. 17 team owner Steve McGowan clinched the 2023 ARCA Menards Series West car owner’s championship. McGowan, whose team fielded cars for Landen Lewis and Honeycutt throughout the season, is the 38th team owner to win an owner’s title and the first to do it without winning the driver’s championship. 
  • William Sawalich won the Desert Diamond Casino West Valley 100 in his fourth career West start. He started from the General Tire Pole and led 93 of the race’s 100 laps to claim victory. He also went on to win the ASA STARS National Tour All-American 400 at Nashville Fairgrounds Speedway on Sunday. 
  • Dean Thompson finished second in his first West appearance of 2023, matching his best career finish set in 2021 at Irwindale Speedway. 
  • Jack Wood matched his best career West finish in fourth, his second top-five finish of the 2023. He also finished fourth at Sonoma Raceway in June. 
  • Tyler Reif finished fifth in the race and leapt past Trevor Huddleston to finish second in the ARCA Menards Series West standings, 36 points behind Hingorani. Reif ended the season with one win, at Phoenix in March, five top-five and eight top-ten finishes. 
  • Four drivers ended the season tied with two General Tire Pole Awards each: based on the tie-breaker (attempts, starts, wins) Sean Hingorani wins the season-long award over Tyler Reif. Landen Lewis and William Sawalich also had two poles each in 2023. 
  • Seven drivers set or matched their best career West finish on Friday: winner William Sawalich, second-place Dean Thompson, fourth-place Jack Wood, eleventh-place Toni Breidinger, 12th-place Justin Johnson, 15th-place Mamba Smith, and 17th-place Lavar Scott. 
  • Bradley Erickson finished seventh, allowing him to move past Todd Souza to finish fourth in the final ARCA Menards Series West standings. Souza finished 26th after a lap 64 crash, dropping him from fourth to sixth in the standings. 
  • Sebastian Arias finished tenth for Rev Racing, his first top-ten finish in two starts this season. 
  • Sawalich’s victory makes him the 208th driver to win at least one ARCA Menards Series West race since 1954. 
  • Hingorani also clinched the Bounty Rookie Challenge rookie of the year award, becoming the series’ 53rd rookie of the year.


Spread the love