McIntosh Leads Toyota At Lucas Oil Chili Bowl Nationals

Toyota Racing Development

Cannon McIntosh earned a third-place finish to lead Toyota in Saturday night’s 37th annual Lucas Oil Chili Bowl Nationals. It’s the third top-five finish for McIntosh in the last four years.

McIntosh began the race in the third starting position, but quickly moved up to second and then started to close on race leader Logan Seavey. After getting a run on the high side, he would overtake Seavey for the lead on lap 21 of the 55-lap event.

He would continue to pace the race before a caution waved on lap 31 to bunch the field. On the restart, Seavey would get the advantage and retake the lead. McIntosh would continue to run in the top three throughout the remainder of the race, trading second with Tanner Thorson and made a number of runs at Seavey for the lead, but the changing track conditions made it more difficult to pass as the night went on. Seavey would eventually take the checkered flag with Thorson placing second and McIntosh finishing third.

In addition to McIntosh’s podium finish, three more Toyota-powered drivers captured top-10 showings on the night with Mitchell Moles placing seventh, Trey Marcham was eighth and Justin Grant finished tenth.

In addition, rookie Jade Avedisian captured the inaugural “Fuzzy Hahn Trophy” as the top finishing female with an 18th-place finish in Saturday night’s A Main. Fellow Toyota driver Kaylee Bryson placed 22nd, marking the first time two women advanced to the A Main in the same event.

Overall, 13 Toyota-powered drivers from seven different teams qualified for the 24-car A Main feature on Saturday in an event that featured 365 entries.


Toyota Chili Bowl Notes:

– Cannon McIntosh matched his best A Main finish of third, which he ran in 2020. The 20-year-old Bixby, Oklahoma native, also registered a fourth-place finish in 2021.

– For the week, Toyota drivers Cannon McIntosh and Rico Abreu captured preliminary night features with Spencer Bayston winning the Race of Champions on Monday night. 

– Jade Avedisian registered the best-ever qualifying night performance by a woman in finishing third on Tuesday night. The 16-year-old Clovis, Calif., native captured the first ‘Fuzzy Hahn Trophy’ as the top finishing female driver with an 18th-place finish – matching the previous best-ever A Main finish by a female driver set by Kaylee Bryson in 2022.


Cannon McIntosh, Dave Mac Dalby Motorsports GearWrench Toyota: “It’s frustrating to finish third after leading 10 laps there. Logan made some great adjustments. When I got to traffic, I felt like I was in a good rhythm. Then I started to feel my tires start to fade. I should have dialed the shocks out quicker and pounded the top out earlier. Late in the race I was able to start to get back to them. I tried to maximize everything I could. I think I just made a couple of mistakes in the middle of the race. The track was a bit weird, and we really couldn’t find a consistent place to go. I’m not sure I ever would have had a chance to get by them, though. I was stronger in the long runs and would start to get to them. I ended up tying my best finish of third. It’s frustrating, but it’s cool to come in here with a new team this year that we’ve built up. It’s a little more rewarding to do it in something you’ve helped build.”

Jade Avedisian, CB Industries Toyota: “Overall, it was pretty good. At one point, I was running eighth or ninth and was running really well. Then under a caution I had my right rear go down and it took about five laps to build the pressure back up. At that point, I was already caught in the back. Honestly, I don’t know what happened there. I can’t thank everyone at CBI enough for working their tails off, as well as every at Toyota Racing and all of our great sponsors. This wouldn’t be possible without them. It’s grateful to receive a trophy honoring someone like Fuzzy Hahn and I’m excited to receive it. We’ll try again next year.”

Toyota Saturday Race Results 

Car #DriverHometownQualified
08Cannon McIntoshBixby, OKA Main -3rd
89XMitchel MolesRaisin City, CAA Main – 7th
32TTrey MarchamNewcastle, OKB Main to A Main – 8th
2JJustin GrantIone, CAA Main – 10th
5TKevin Thomas JrCullman, ALB Main to A Main – 12th
26RZeb WiseAngola, INB Main to A Main – 13th
89Chris WindomCanton, ILB Main to A Main – 14th
7xThomas MeseraullSan Jose, CAB Main to A Main – 17th
84 (R)Jade AvedisianClovis, CAB Main to A Main – 18th
67Ryan TimmsOklahoma City, OKB Main to A Main – 19th
24Rico AbreuSt. Helena, CAA Main – 21st
71Kaylee BrysonMuskogee, OKB Main to A Main – 22nd
1SSpencer BaystonLebanon, INA Main – 23rd
01Bryant WiedemanColby, KSC Main to B Main – 9th
98Tanner CarrickLincoln, CAB Main – 10th
26Chance CrumSnohomish, WAB Main – 11th
71K (R)Dominic GordenClovis, CAC Main to B Main – 14th
25Jacob DenneyGalloway, OHC Main to B Main – 14th
25KTaylor ReimerTulsa, OKB Main – 15th
21HBrady BaconBroken Arrow, OKB Main – 16th
87 (R)Jace ParkOverland Park, KSB Main – 17th
52Blake HahnSapulpa, OKB Main – 18th
67X (R)Kyle SpenceBridgeton, NJB Main – 19th
88JJonathan BeasonBroken Arrow, OKB Main – 19th
5GGavan BoscheleMooresville, NCB Main – 20th
51BJoe B. MillerMillersville, MOC Main – 7th
00Anton HernandezArlington, TXD Main to C Main – 8th
80S (R)Kaden HoneycuttBridge City, TXC Main – 9th
67K (R)Cade LewisBakersfield, CAD Main to C Main – 10th
08GTrey GroppLincoln, NEC Main – 11th
82Landon CrawleyBenton, ARC Main – 13th
71EMariah EdeFresno, CAD Main to C Main – 15th
81 (R)Tanner HolmesJacksonville, ORC Main – 16th
47WDylan WestbrookScotland, ON
D Main – 10th
4XMichael PickensAuckland, NZ
(New Zealand)
E Main to D Main – 13th
97Brenham CrouchLubbock, TXD Main – 13th
3NJake NeumanNew Berlin, ILE Main to D Main – 14th
97KTom HarrisBanbury, OXF
(United Kingdom)
D Main – 16th
71WBuddy KofoidPenngrove, CAD Main – 18th
25MJake AndreottiCastro Valley, CAE Main to D Main – 18th
5VA.J. BenderSan Diego, CAD Main – 20th
17BAustin BarnhillWilmington, NCE Main – 6th
32Gary TaylorSnohomish, WAE Main – 8th
56Mitchell DavisAuburn, ILF Main to E Main – 9th
32WCasey ShumanRattlesnake Bend, AZE Main – 11th
91XDanny WoodNorman, OKE Main – 15th
20HNoah HarrisBroken Arrow, OKF Main – 8th
06Rylan GrayGreenfield, ING Main to F Main – 16th
80DJosh HawkinsWhitehouse, TXG Main to F Main 17th
56XMark ChisholmCheyenne, WYF Main – 18th
80A (R)Chris SchmelzleColville, WAF Main – 19th
1KBrayton LynchSpringfield, ILF Main – 20th
16Santino FerrucciWoodbury, CTG Main – 6th
08KKarsyn ElledgeMooresville, NCG Main – 14th
7PAJ HopkinsBrownsburg, INI Main to H Main – 14th
4RRyan BickettRamona, SDK Main to J Main – 7th
5KBen WorthCoalinga, CAL Main – 9th
80 (R)Jarrod JenningsRichardson, TXL Main – 11th
4MBrody FusonBakersfield, CAL Main -14th
21DJustin DickersonPittsboro, INN Main to M Main – 7th
7TXAnthony PopeRoseburg, ORM Main – 9th
80DJosh HannaTyler, TXN Main to M Main – 11th
11N (R)Nick BaranTomahawk, WIO Main – DNS
4FChad FrewaldtKansas City, KSO Main – DNS

 (R) = Rookie


Spread the love