Pete Frazier Memorial Headed To Sweet Springs Motorsports Complex In 2023

American Sprint Car Series

A change of venue is coming for the 24th annual Pete Frazier Memorial. Taking the show back into Missouri, the annual tribute to Frazier will land at Sweet Springs Motorsports Complex on September 1-2, 2023.

Founded and promoted by the McDougal and Frazier families, whom Frazier was partners with at Factor 1 Racing, the event has been promoted over the past 12 years by Kristy McDougal.

“Pete loved racing Sweet Springs. That was one of his favorite tracks, and when we ran there five years ago when Port was shut down, the show was a lot of fun, and the teams really enjoyed it,” commented McDougal.

“Every year, I get asked over and over if it will ever go back to Sweet Springs, and really, the way Pete was and the way he raced, this could be a thing where we find some of the tracks he really liked going to, like Sweet Springs and Port City, and do a rotation. Just something to think about. Obviously, the event started in Tulsa, so Port will always be home.”

The 2023 event will also be co-promoted with Ward Worthy Farms (Matt and Ashleigh Ward), joining McDougal to lease and promote the event. Feature classes will line up just like the Tulsa Shootout with Outlaw, Non-Wing Outlaw, A-Class, Stock Non-Wing, Restricted, and Junior Sprints on the card. The show will run under the Lucas Oil National Open Wheel 600 Series banner, with Tulsa Shootout Director of Operations, Matt Ward, serving as the event’s Competition Director.

The 24th annual Pete Frazier Memorial at Sweet Springs Motorsports Complex will take place Friday, September 1, and Saturday, September 2. Dates for weather will be September 3-4. The event will be preceded by Practice on Thursday, August 31. 

Information on pre-entry will be released as the event draws closer. Reserved Parking will be $50 per spot. Those that pre-enter will be in the running for added prizes, including free pit passes, comped entry into the 2024 Tulsa Shootout, and free Tires, to name a few.

If you would like to have your business represented during the 2023 event, you can contact Kristy McDougal at (918) 510-8247, Matt Ward at (918) 809-2232, or Ashleigh Ward at (918) 606-2592.

Sweet Springs Motorsports Complex is located at 12917 MO-127 in Sweet Springs, Mo. Information on the facility can be found online at, by calling (660) 335-4522, and on Social Media at

More information on the 24th annual Pete Frazier Memorial will be posted at and

To keep on everything happening with the National Open Wheel 600 Series, from the National Tour to Regional and Weekly racing lineups, log onto and make sure to follow the tour on Facebook and Twitter (@NOW600Series).

Past Champions:

Outlaw Winners: Scott Sawyer (2000, 2001, 2003, 2004, 2012); Kevin Bayer (2002); Chris Berreth (2005); Josh Pickle (2006); Jerrod Wilson (2007); Chris Andrews (2008, 2009, 2010, 2013); Frank Flud (2011, 2014, 2015, 2017, 2019, 2020); Harley Holan (2016); Kris Carroll (2018); Trey Robb (2021); Cam Sorrels (2022)

A-Class Winners: Sherman Davis (2001); Kim Schaumleffel (2002); Kevin Bayer (2004, 2005); Travis Harris (2006); Donnie Ray Crawford (2007, 2008); Jake Rosario (2009); Alex Sewell (2010); Chris Andrews (2011, 2012); Frank Flud (2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2018, 2019, 2022); Scott Sawyer (2017); Ryan Timms (2020); Kris Carroll (2021)

Stock Non-Wing: Paul Gottschalk (2001, 2002); Jason Adams (2003); Brady Bacon (2004); Chris Andrews (2005); Tyler Edwards (2006); Andrew Deal (2007); Donnie Ray Crawford (2008); Riley Adair (2009); Alex Sewell (2010); Tyler Thomas (2011); Chris Andrews (2012); Jeffrey Newell (2013, 2016, 2020); Jason McDougal (2014); Frank Flud (2015, 2019, 2021); Daniel Shaffer (2017); Trey Robb (2018); Chris Cochran (2022)

Restricted: Dustin Morgan (2002); Frank Flud (2004); Tyler Edwards (2005); Denny Felker (2006); Alex Sewell (2007); Karley Dobson (2007); Tyler Thomas (2009); Logan Martin (2010); Mickey Walker (2011); Jason McDougal (2012); Taylor Reimer (2013); Mason McGuire (2014); Jayden Hughes (2015); Jace McIntosh (2016); Grady Mercer (2017); Rees Moran (2018); Ryan Timms (2019); Caden McCreary (2020); Garret Benson (2021); Jase Blevins (2022)

Sportsman: Brian Thomas (2000); Zach Alley (2002); Jeffrey Newell (2004); Rob Donnelly (2005); Chris Andrews (2006); Frank Flud (2007); Jerry McGinnis (2008); Justin Farley (2009); Mike Ward (2010); Matt Taylor (2011); Kinzer Edwards (2012); Dave Nicholson (2013, 2014); Luke Tipton (2015); Ryan Cody (2016, 2017, 2018, 2019); Keith Burton (2020); Lonnie Fraley (2021); Darren Stewart (2022)

Junior Sprints: Donnie Ray Crawford (2000); Jeffrey Newell (2001); Kody Conley (2002); Jonathan Bishop (2003); Blake Hahn (2004, 2005); Blake Edwards (2006); Chance Morton (2007); Broc Elliott (2008); Dylan Cantrell (2009) Mason McGuire (2010); Blake Battles (2011); Cannon McIntosh (2012, 2013); Hank Davis (2014); Shawn Mahaffey (2015); Preston Scheulen (2016); Ryan Timms (2017); Freddy Rowland (2018); Peyton White (2019); Brody McClelland (2020); Tyler Crow (2021); Mattix McBride (2022)

Series Information:

The National Open Wheel 600 Series is in its tenth year of showcasing premier micro sprint racing throughout the country. In addition to the Lucas Oil National Open Wheel 600 Series presented by Hi-Plains Building Division, there are seven regions – the NOW600 Hi-Plains Building Division Ark-La-Tex Region, the Hi-Plains Building Division NOW600 Cactus Region, the NOW600 Hi-Plains Building Division Desert Region, the NOW600 Hi-Plains Building Division Jayhusker Region, the NOW600 Hi-Plains Building Mile High Region, the NOW600 Hi-Plains Building Division Mountain West Region and the NOW600 Hi-Plains Building Division North Texas Region – as well as NOW600 Hi-Plains Building Division weekly racing and EMSA NOW600 C2 Micros. The featured national racing divisions are Stock Non-Wing, Winged ‘A’ Class, and Restricted ‘A’ Class. For more information, including the schedule, points, and rules, visit


Spread the love