ARCA Menards Series at Pocono Raceway – General Tire Delivers 200 Pre-race News and Notes


  • There are 28 teams entered for the General Tire Delivers 200 at Pocono Raceway, the biggest entry since the July 2018 race won by Zane Smith. 
  • Rajah Caruth enters with a seven-point lead in the ARCA Menards Series championship standings over his Rev Racing teammate Nick Sanchez. Third place Daniel Dye is just one point behind Sanchez, and each of the three could leave Pocono with the points lead. 
  • Defending ARCA Menards Series East champion Sammy Smith and two-time defending ARCA Menards Series West champion Jesse Love will both make their big-track debuts at Pocono. Smith has two wins so far in 2022, at Berlin Raceway and Elko Speedway, while Love is winless in 2022 but did score his first ARCA Menards Series win last October at Salem Speedway. Both have experience at Phoenix Raceway and Dover Motor Speedway, each one-mile ovals, while Love has made one start at the 1.25-mile WWT Raceway. 
  • Taylor Gray, who won earlier this season at Phoenix Raceway and again two weeks ago at Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course, will also make his big-track debut at Pocono.  
  • Jake Finch will drive a fourth Venturini Motorsports entry at Pocono. Finch is the son of former team owner James Finch, who won ten times in the ARCA Menards Series as an owner, including the July 1994 race at Pocono.  
  • Scott Melton is entered and will attempt to make his first series start since being sidelined after a crash at Talladega Superspeedway in April. 
  • Brandon Jones is entered and will make his third ARCA Menards Series start of 2022. Jones has won in each of his previous starts at Charlotte Motor Speedway and Pocono Raceway. Jones has finished in the top five nine times in his last ten series starts dating back to the 2016 season finale at Kansas Speedway, with four wins. 
  • There have been 70 previous ARCA Menards Series points races at Pocono Raceway dating back to May 1969. The first race, held on the now-defunct 0.75-mile oval that encircled what is now the NASCAR Cup Series garage area, was won by Bobby Watson. The next visit, on the 2.5-mile superspeedway, was in 1983 and won by Bob Schacht.  
  • Races held at Pocono in 1985, 1986, and July 1987 were non-points invitational races. Bob Schacht won in 1985 and 1987, while the late Bobby Jacks won in 1986. Those three races are not counted as “official” ARCA Menards Series races and neither driver was credited with a win. 
  • There have been 30 consecutive ARCA Menards Series races at Pocono Raceway without a repeat winner, dating back to Chase Miller’s victory on June 10, 2006.  
  • All-time winners at Pocono include Bobby Watson, Bob Schacht, Lee Raymond, Bob Keselowski, Jimmy Horton, Ben Hess, Tim Steele, Jeff Purvis, Mike Wallace, Frank Kimmel, Blaise Alexander, Kerry Earnhardt, Ryan Newman, Damon Lusk, Casey Atwood, Casey Mears, Scott Riggs, Ryan Hemphill, Travis Kvapil, Chase Miller, Chad McCumbee, Michael McDowell, Ricky Stenhouse, Jr., Justin Allgaier, Joey Logano, Craig Goess, Robb Brent, Tim George, Jr., Ty Dillon, Brennan Poole, Chad Hackenbracht, Chase Elliott, Corey Lajoie, Kyle Larson, Justin Allison, Trevor Bayne, Cole Custer, Grant Enfinger, Riley Herbst, Justin Haley, Harrison Burton, Zane Smith, Ty Majeski, Christian Eckes, Ty Gibbs, and Corey Heim. 
  • Tim Steele leads all drivers with nine wins at Pocono, including five straight from July 1996 through July 1998. 
  • The Modified Live pit stop procedure will be used at Pocono. There will be competition cautions at or near laps 30 and 60. If a driver does not get lapped on pit road, he or she cannot lose a position among the cars that pit.  
  • The General Tire Delivers 200 (80 laps/200 miles) will be televised live on FS1 starting at 6:30 pm ET on Friday, July 22. The race will also be broadcast on select affiliates of the MRN Radio network nationwide. 


Spread the love