ARCA Menards Series at Berlin: Zinsser SmartCoat 200 News and Notes & Stats Update


  • Saturday’s Zinsser SmartCoat 200 is slated as the seventh race of 20 on the 2022 ARCA Menards Series schedule. It will mark the 32nd time the ARCA Menards Series has visited the uniquely-shaped 0.438-mile oval located ten miles west of Grand Rapids in Marne, MI. 
  • Daniel Dye, currently third in the series championship standings, enters the Zinsser SmartCoat 200 as the race’s defending winner. In 2021, he started from the General Tire Pole and led 198 of the race’s 200 laps to earn his first career series victory. He nipped eventual series champion Ty Gibbs at the finish by 0.098 seconds. 
  • The first ARCA Menards Series race at Berlin Raceway was on July 25, 1958. The 100-lap main event was won by Les Snow. 
  • Other ARCA Menards Series winners at Berlin Raceway include Nelson Stacy, Bob James, Don White, Harold Smith, Iggy Katona, Andy Hampton, Ramo Stott, Bob Senneker, Frank Kimmel, Tim Steele, Fred Campbell, Joey Miller, Brian Keselowski, Scott Speed, Justin Lofton, Joey Coulter, Matt Merrell, Chris Buescher, Erik Jones, Grant Enfinger, Dalton Sargeant, Joe Graf, Jr., and Daniel Dye. 
  • Drivers who have earned their first ARCA Menards Series win at Berlin Raceway include Bob Senneker, Bob Keselowski, Fred Campbell, Brian Keselowski, Joey Coulter, Matt Merrell, Erik Jones, Dalton Sargeant, Joe Graf, Jr., and Daniel Dye. 
  • The last three ARCA Menards Series races at Berlin Raceway, Dalton Sargeant in 2016, Joe Graf, Jr. in 2018, and Daniel Dye in 2021, have been won by first-time series winners. 
  • The Zinsser SmartCoat 200 will be the 180th race for the ARCA Menards Series in the state of Michigan. 
  • Through the first six races of 2022, there has only been one first-time series winner. Taylor Gray earned his first series victory in March at Phoenix Raceway. 
  • Entering the Zinsser SmartCoat 200, there is a tie atop the ARCA Menards Series standings for the second time this season. Rev Racing teammates, and NASCAR Drive 4 Diversity drivers, Nick Sanchez and Rajah Caruth sit on top of the heap with 279 points. Sanchez earns the tie breaker on the strength of two wins at Talladega Superspeedway and Kansas Speedway. Caruth is still looking for his first career series win. Daniel Dye is third, 12 points behind. Toni Breidinger and Amber Balcaen round out the top five, 45 and 49 points behind respectively. 
  • The Zinsser SmartCoat 200 is also the third round of the 2022 Sioux Chief Showdown. The first race of the series-within-a-series was at Phoenix Raceway, won by Taylor Gray. NASCAR Xfinity Series star Brandon Jones won the most recent round of the Sioux Chief Showdown, last Saturday night’s Calypso Lemonade 150 at Iowa Speedway. 
  • Defending ARCA Menards Series East champion Sammy Smith leads the Sioux Chief Showdown standings with an eight point lead over second-place Connor Mosack. Smith finished third at Phoenix Raceway and second last weekend at Iowa Speedway.  
  • The Zinsser SmartCoat 200 is set for an 8 pm ET green flag and will be televised live on MAVTV and streamed live on FloRacing. 


Spread the love