Justin Grant Powers To Friday Driven2SaveLives A-Feature Win

(Image Credit: Ryan Black)

Justin Grant took the lead at the midway point on lap 15, then held off Ricky Stenhouse on the final lap to win Friday’s Driven 2 Save Lives Qualifying Night feature event to advance to Saturday’s A Main feature at the 36th annual Lucas Oil Chili Bowl Nationals. It marked Grant’s fifth Friday preliminary night win in the last six years.

The victory gave Toyota a sweep of the week’s preliminary night feature events for the second year in a row. In addition, Toyota drivers earned six of the ten positions that advanced directly into Saturday night’s feature event where the manufacturer will be looking for its eighth consecutive Chili Bowl win.

Grant began the A Main from the fourth position, but immediately moved up to third on the opening lap. He then overtook Stenhouse for second on lap five behind leader Sam Johnson, with Stenhouse in third and Michael Faccinto in fourth.

Grant would close quickly as the leaders began to encounter heavy lapped traffic. As they diced through the field, Grant would make his move on lap 16, throwing a slider through turns one and two to take over the top spot.

Stenhouse moved up to second on lap 18, but Grant held a comfortable lead before the race saw a string of yellow flags that bunched up the field. Grant continued to lead after a pair of cautions, but the repeated yellows allowed Stenhouse to time a lap 24 restart perfectly, moving past Grant, only to see yet another caution flag revert the field back to the standings from the previous lap.

On the ensuing restart, Grant was able to maintain the top spot, but Stenhouse remained on his tail, but to no avail as Grant would take the checkered flag with Stenhouse finishing second, Zeb Wise was third and Toyota driver Bryant Wiedeman came home in fourth.

The win was the second of the week for Grant, who took top honors in Monday’s Vacuworx Invitational Race of Champions (VIROC). He finished second in last year’s Chili Bowl feature event.

Faccinto would join Grant and Wiedeman with a sixth-place finish, giving Toyota three top-10 finishers. In addition, Cory Eliason placed 17th, with Brenham Crouch in 19th and Tom Harris was 22nd to complete the six Toyota drivers who advanced to the A Main. 

This year’s Lucas Oil Chili Bowl Nationals features a record 395 entries – each fighting for one of the 24 openings in Saturday night’s “A Main” feature event. A total of 56 Toyota-powered drivers are expected to compete on Saturday.


Justin Grant, RMS Racing: “(On taking the lead) I knew we had a pretty good car around the top. Sam was really good up there as well. Once he got in traffic, we were able to get to him and slide him for the lead. I knew once we got to running the top, I was going to be alright up there. Our car rolls around the top pretty good right now. (On holding off Stenhouse for the win) I definitely saw Ricky down at the end. The bottom was there in three and four, but I didn’t feel good on the bottom, so I was trying to run up top in three and four, but I was able to chop him there at the end to hold him off.”

Toyota Friday ResultsFinished
Justin GrantA Main – 1st
Bryant WiedemanA Main – 4th
Michael FaccintoA Main – 6th
Cory EliasonA Main – 17th
Brenham CrouchA Main – 19th
Tom HarrisA Main – 22nd
Trey GroppB Main – 5th
Jace McIntoshB Main – 7th
Tucker KlaasmeyerC Main – 12th
Cruz PedregonD Main – 10th
Santino FerrucciDNS

Toyota Saturday Race Line-up 

Car #DriverQualified 
98Tanner CarrickLincoln, Calif. A Main
67Buddy KofoidPenngrove, CA A Main
97Rico AbreuSt. Helena, CA A Main
71WChristopher BellNorman, OK A Main
2JJustin GrantIone, CA A Main
84Michael FaccintoHanford, CA B Main
01Kyle LarsonElk Grove, Calif A Main
81XDillon WelchCarmel, IN B Main
87Chase JohnsonPenngrove, CA B Main
89Chris WindomCanton, IL B Main
52Blake HahnSapulpa, OK B Main
1DDavid GravelWatertown, CT B Main
01K (R)Bryant WiedemanColby, KS B Main
7XThomas MeseraullSan Jose, CA B Main
08Cannon McIntoshBixby, OK B Main
71KKaylee BrysonMuskogee, OK B Main
1RBrad SweetGrass Valley, CA B Main
32Gary TaylorSnohomish, WA B Main
5G (R)Gavan BoscheleMooresville, NC B Main
8JJonathan BeasonBroken Arrow, OK B Main
26CChance CrumSnohomish, WA B Main
32TTrey MarchamNewcastle, OK C Main
83D (R)Dominic GordenClovis, CA C Main
1SSpencer BaystonLebanon, IN C Main
51BJoe B. MillerMillersville, MO C Main
86 (R)Brent CrewsDenver, NC D Main
97XJesse LoveRedwood City, CA D Main
25KTaylor ReimerTulsa, OK D Main
26ECory EliasonVisalia, CA D Main
97K (R)Brenham CrouchLubbock, TX D Main
61JJacob DennyGalloway, OH E Main
1UKTom HarrisBanbury, OXF
(United Kingdom)
 E Main
4DRobert DalbyAnaheim, CA E Main
4MBrody FusonBakersfield, CA E Main
85T (R)Ryan TimmsOklahoma City, OK F Main
91TTyler ThomasCollinsville, OK F Main
9EChase ElliottDawsonville, GA F Main
71E (R)Mariah EdeFresno, CA F Main
4TTrey GroppLincoln, NE F Main
08mJace McIntoshBixby, OK F Main
67K (R)Jonathan ShaferAshland, OH H Main
1KBrayton LynchSpringfield, IL H Main
20HNoah HarrisBroken Arrow, OK H Main
91AChris AndrewsHuron, OH I Main
4XCarson SousaRed Bluff, CA J Main
79SLandon SimonIndianapolis, IN J Main
71 (R)Steven Snyder Jr.Rising Sun, MD J Main
08B (R)Austin BarnhillRocky Point, NC K Main
56Mark ChisholmLaramie, Wyoming K Main
7TXAnthony PopeRoseburg, OR L Main
91X (R)Danny WoodNorman, OK M Main
79Ryan HallMidlothian, TX N Main
27KTucker KlaasmeyerPaola, KS N Main
4FChad FrewaldtKansas City, KS O Main
26 (R)Kevin RudeenSpokane, WA O Main
21DJustin DickersonPittsboro, IN P Main
79MCruz PedregonTorrance, CA Q Main
16Santino FerrucciWoodbury, CT DNQ

(R) = Rookie

Toyota Racing PR

Spread the love