Joseph Welch to Start U.S. Nationals as No. 1 Qualifier

(photo credit Auto Imagery) 2021 NHRA U.S. Nationals

For the first time this season Joseph Welch of Longboat Key, Florida, will start the Constant Aviation Factory Stock Showdown from the No. 1 qualifier position at the Dodge//SRT NHRA U.S. Nationals from Lucas Oil Raceway. On Friday night Welch made the third quickest run lighting up the scoreboard with a 7.888 second, 175.21 mph pass. This morning in a rain shortened session he made the quickest run of the U.S. Nationals jumping to the top of the field with a 7.776 second, 119.95 mph run, the quickest No. 1 qualifier time of the 2021 season.

Last night David Barton, the Houston SpringNationals winner and two-time 2021 No. 1 qualifier, made a stellar 7.816 second run at 176.67 mph pass. He was at the top of the over twenty Factory Stock race cars attempting to qualify at the most prestigious drag race in the country after the first day.

Welch will receive a competition bye in the first round behind the wheel of his white and blue Dodge Challenger Drag Pak. Topeka winner John Cerbone will head into race day with the Constant Aviation Factory Stock Showdown $1,000 bounty on his head. Arthur Kohn of Richmond, Texas, will be the first competitor with a shot at collecting the bounty when eliminations get underway on Sunday.

Point leader and defending U.S. Nationals champion Stanfield is the No. 8 qualifier and will be racing for his second win of the season. Stanfield won the season opening Gatornationals and was the No. 1 qualifier at the Dodge Mile-High Nationals. Two-time consecutive runner-up Leah Pruett will be looking for her second U.S. Nationals title after finishing second in Denver and Topeka this season. She will race David H Davies in the first round in a No. 12 versus No. 13 match-up. Davies is also the Chief Operating Officer of Constant Aviation, the sponsor of the Factory Stock Showdown. 

First Round Match-Ups

No. 1 Joseph Welch vs. Bye

No. 2 David Barton vs. No. 23 Bill Skillman

No. 3 Jesse Alexandra vs. No. 22 Mark Pawuk

No. 4 Geoff Turk vs. No. 21 Doug Hamp

No. 5 Dan Condon vs. No. 20 Richard Bierie

No. 6 Leonard Lottig vs. No. 19 Dustin Wheelock

No. 7 Anthony Troyer vs. No. 18 Waldemar Rodriguez

No. 8 Aaron Stanfield vs.  No. 17 Scott Libersher

No. 9 John Cerbone vs. No. 16 Arthur Kohn

No. 10 Stephen Bell vs. No. 15 Lee Hartman

No. 11 Lindsay Wheelock vs. No. 14 David Janac

No. 12 Leah Pruett vs. No. 13 David H. Davies

2021 Constant Aviation Factory Stock Showdown No. 1 Qualifiers

Gainesville: Bill Skillman, 7.781 sec, 179.47 mph

Houston: Bill Skillman, 7.823 sec, 177.72 mph

Norwalk: David Barton, 7.860, 177.79 mph

Denver: Aaron Stanfield, 8.234 sec, 164.65 mph

Topeka: John Cerbone, 7.909 sec, 164.13 mph

Indianapolis: Joseph Welch, 7.776 sec, 179.95 mph

Tony Fay PR