Xfinity Sunoco Rookie Update

LAT Images

After another solid run for rookie Ty Gibbs at Mid-Ohio last weekend banking his sixth top-five finish in seven starts this season, he has extended his lead over JR Motorsport’s Josh Berry in the Sunoco Rookie of the Year standings. 

Gibbs has pocketed two wins this season at the Daytona Road Course and Charlotte Motor Speedway and he’s only run in seven of the 14 Xfinity Series events so far this year.

 Sunoco Rookie of the Year  
Ty Gibbs2724
Josh Berry2564
Ryan Vargas1294
Jade Buford440
Jordan Anderson00
Sam Mayer00

JR Motorsport’s Josh Berry is holding onto second place in the rookie standings with 256 points and four awards to his name. Just 16 points behind Gibbs heading into Texas this weekend. 

In 11 starts so far this year, he has one win at Martinsville Speedway and three top fives and six top 10s. He’s led 151 laps and has an average start of 16.6.

JD Motorsport’s Ryan Vargas is still sitting in third in the rookie standings with 129 points. In 12 starts so far this season for JD Motorsports, Vargas got his best finish of 16th at Charlotte Motor Speedway.

Jade Buford joined the rookie party two weeks ago in the standings with 20 points and now he has 44 points after Mid-Ohio. In 12 starts so far this season, Buford has a best finish of 13th from last weekend. 

He still sits ahead of Jordan Anderson and Sam Mayer who have both not yet made a start in the series in 2021.

Manufacturer update

Chevrolet is leading the charge in the Xfinity Series with seven wins so far this season and 484 points in the manufacturers standings.

Chevrolet’s wins came at Homestead-Miami Speedway, Las Vegas Motor Speedway, Atlanta Motor Speedway, Martinsville Speedway, Talladega Superspeedway, Darlington Raceway and Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course.

Toyota is in second in the standings with 455 points and three victories. Toyota’s wins came at the Daytona Road Course, COTA, and Charlotte Motor Speedway.

Lastly, Ford is in third with three wins and 441 points. Their wins came at the season-opener in Daytona, Phoenix Raceway and Dover International Speedway.