Camping World Truck Series back in action in Texas

Getty Images

The NASCAR Camping World Truck Series took last weekend off but returns to action this weekend at Texas Motor Speedway for the 220 on Saturday, June 12th (1 p.m. ET on FS1, MRN and SiriusXM NASCAR Radio). The race will be the first in a double-header that day, with the NASCAR Xfinity Series wrapping up the day at 4 p.m. ET.

Former series champion and current FOX Sports NASCAR analyst Todd Bodine leads the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series in wins at Texas Motor Speedway with six victories (2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2009, 2010). ThorSport Racing’s Johnny Sauter leads all active NASCAR Camping World Truck Series drivers in wins at Texas with five victories (2012 sweep, 2016, 2017, 2018). Sauter’s ThorSport Racing teammate, Matt Crafton, is the only other active driver with multiple wins there with two (2014, 2015). In fact, only one other entered driver has a win in the Trucks on the 1.5-mile track – Sheldon Creed, who won the most recent Texas race last fall.

The series has raced 47 times at Texas Motor Speedway with the first race being run in 1997. There have been 24 different drivers to visit Victory Lane over the years. Todd Bodine is the all-time wins leader on the circuit with six wins. Brendan Gaughan has four wins, Ron Hornaday Jr. has recorded three, and Greg Biffle, Dennis Setzer and Jack Sprague have two apiece.

Of note, nine times a Texas race winner has gone on to win the Camping World Truck Series championship that season. The first to do it was Greg Biffle in 2000. The most recent was Creed last year. In fact, in five of the past seven years, a Texas race winner has won the title.

2020 – Sheldon Creed

2017 – Christopher Bell

2016 – Johnny Sauter

2015 – Erik Jones

2014 – Matt Crafton

2010 – Todd Bodine

2006 – Todd Bodine

2001 – Jack Sprague

2000 – Greg Biffle

How they will line up

By virtue of Metric Qualifying, the most recent race winner, Kyle Busch Motorsport’s driver John Hunter Nemechek, will start from the pole in Saturday afternoon’s NASCAR Camping World Truck Series race the 220. And he’ll be joined by another Toyota on the front row in ThorSport Racing’s Ben Rhodes.

Niece Motorsport’s Carson Hocevar’s impressive runner-up performance at Charlotte netted him a spot on the second row, as he’ll start third. Todd Gilliland starts alongside him in fourth.

Austin Hill, Stewart Friesen, Zane Smith, Chandler Smith, Derek Kraus, and Drew Dollar will complete the top 10.

None of the drivers starting in the top 10 for Saturday’s race have a win at Texas Motor Speedway. But Austin Hill (2020) Stewart Friesen (2019) and Ben Rhodes (2018) have come the closest of the 10 drivers with all three posting runner-up finishes at Texas recently.

Sharing is caring!