ARCA Menards Series 1500th Race – By the Numbers


0.000– closest margin of victory, Zane Smith over Joe Graf, Jr., at Talladega Superspeedway in 2018. The final margin was so close, the scoring computer read it as a statistical tie. The win was determined by a video replay and is estimated to have been about 2 inches. 

1 – race with two winners; the August 28, 1971 race at the Clark County Fairgrounds was deemed to be a dead heat with both Tom Bowsher and Iggy Katona awarded the victory 

2 – championships for NASCAR Hall of Fame member Benny Parsons, in 1968 and 1969. Parsons would go on to become the 1973 NASCAR Cup Series champion and the 1975 winner of the Daytona 500. 

3 – consecutive championships for both Ron Hutcherson and Dave Dayton, including a shared title in 1974 when they both scored an identical points total. Hutcherson won titles from 1972 to 1974, while Dayton won from 1974 through 1976. 

4 – pairs of brothers who have won an ARCA Menards Series race: Jack and Tom Bowsher, Troy and Joe Ruttman, Darrell and Michael Waltrip, and Benny and Phil Parsons 

7 – inductees in the NASCAR Hall of Fame who have at least one ARCA Menards Series win: Fred Lorenzen, Red Farmer, Tony Stewart, Davey Allison, Ron Hornaday, Jr., Benny Parsons, and Mark Martin. 

8 – consecutive series championships for Frank Kimmel from 2008 through 2007; number of drivers who have been named Bounty Rookie Challenge rookie of the year and then gone on to win a series championship: Benny Parsons, Dave Dayton, Scott Stovall, Lee Raymond, Bill Venturini, Frank Kimmel, Bill Baird, and Chris Buescher; number of drivers with nine career series wins: Darel Dieringer, Tom Bowsher, Grant Adcox, Tracy Leslie, Bobby Gerhart, Ty Dillon, Michael Self, and Chandler Smith.  

9 – father & son combinations who have each won at least one ARCA Menards Series race: Jack and Bobby Bowsher, Bob and Brian Keselowski, Scott and Scott Lagasse, Jr., Bill and Billy Venturini, Bill and Frank Kimmel, Kyle and Adam Petty, Bobby and Davey Allison, and Jerry and Randy Churchill, Tracy and Billy Leslie; drivers with eight career series wins: Jack Shanklin, Charlie Glotzbach, Dave Dayton, Davey Allison, Jimmy Horton, Jeff Purvis, Chad Blount, Justin Allgaier, and Austin Theriault. 

10 –drivers who won an ARCA Menards Series race and a Daytona 500: Benny Parsons, Davey Allison, Ryan Newman, Michael McDowell, Darrell Waltrip, Joey Logano, Bobby Allison, Michael Waltrip, Ernie Irvan, and Trevor Bayne. 

11 – different road courses the ARCA Menards Series has competed on: Meadowdale International Raceway, Virginia International Raceway, Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course, St. Louis International Raceway, Heartland Park Topeka, the Streets of Des Moines, Watkins Glen International, New Jersey Motorsports Park, Palm Beach International Raceway, Road America, and the road course at Daytona International Speedway. 

14 – drivers with multiple ARCA Menards Series championships: Iggy Katona (6), Nelson Stacy (3), Jack Bowsher (3), Benny Parsons (2), Ramo Stott (2), Ron Hutcherson (3), Dave Dayton (3), Marvin Smith (3), Bob Dotter (3), Lee Raymond (2), Bill Venturini (2), Bobby Bowsher (2), Tim Steele (3), and Frank Kimmel (10). Kimmel’s ten championships is the series record. 

18 – wins by Ken Schrader, from 1990 at Hagerstown Speedway in Maryland through Salem Speedway in April, 2015. 

15.9 – winning percentage in 503 career series starts for Frank Kimmel. 

16 – races on concrete, 15 at Nashville Superspeedway and one at Bristol Motor Speedway. 

19 – wins for Jack Bowsher in 1965, the most by any driver in a single season. 

21 – wins by Jack Farris and Marvin Smith, tied for tenth on the all-time series win list. 

23 – wins by Harold Smith, ninth on the series all-time win list, one fewer than Bob Keselowski who sits eighth on the all-time win list with 24. 

23.3 – winning percentage for Iggy Katona in 335 career series starts.  

24 – races run on road courses, including the Dawn 150 at Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course. The first was at Meadowdale International Raceway, won by Fred Lorenzen, on October 19, 1958. 

27 – wins for Ramo Stott. The Keokuk, Iowa native is the seventh-winningest driver in series history. 

34 – wins for Les Snow, the sixth-winningest driver in series history. 

37 – different drivers who have won at least one ARCA Menards Series championship from 1953 through 2020. Jim Romine was the first champion and Bret Holmes was the most recent. 

40 – races at the Du Quoin State Fair, the most for any dirt track. 

41 – wins for Tim Steele, the fifth-winningest driver in series history 

43 – wins for Nelson Stacy, the fourth-winningest driver in series history 

49 – wins for Jack Bowsher through May 1966 when he lost the series all-time win lead to Iggy Katona. Bowsher’s 49th, and final, career win came at Daytona in February of 1966. Katona tied his mark with a May 1 victory at Toledo Speedway. 

63 – drivers who have been named Bounty Rookie Challenge rookie of the year, from Bill Granger in 1957 to Hailie Deegan in 2020. Harris DeVane and Dill Wittymore were named co-rookies of the year in 1995. 

69 – racing seasons for the ARCA Menards Series since 1953. 

78 – dirt tracks that have hosted at least one ARCA Menards Series race. The first dirt race was the series’ second-ever race, at Ohio’s Canfield Speedway, on May 20, 1953 and won by 1953 champion Jim Romine. 

79 – wins by Iggy Katona, the driver who held the record for most series wins from 1974 through 2013. 

80 – career wins by Frank Kimmel, the all-time leader in series wins. 

106 – races at Salem Speedway, the most of any track in series history. 

179 – different tracks that have hosted at least one ARCA Menards Series race. The first was Dayton Speedway in Dayton, Ohio on May 13, 1953 won by Bucky Sager. The 179th track to be added was Lebanon I-44 Speedway in Lebanon, Missouri on September 5, 2020, won by Sam Mayer. 

273 – career top-five finishes for Frank Kimmel, the all-time series leader. 

344 – drivers who have at least one ARCA Menards Series win. Bucky Sager was the first to win at Dayton in 1953. The most recent first-time winner was Corey Heim in the 2020 season finale at Kansas Speedway. 

362 – starts by independent underdog driver Brad Smith before he earned his first-ever series top-ten finish last September at Winchester Speedway. Smith’s career started in 1988. 

374 – career top-ten finishes for Frank Kimmel. 

500 – the 500th race in series history was held at Eldora Speedway on August 11, 1968, won by Benny Parsons. 

503 – career series starts for Frank Kimmel, the leader in all-time series starts. 

750 – the 750th race in ARCA Menards Series history was held at Flat Rock Speedway on June 16, 1984, part of a weekend doubleheader that also featured a race the previous night at Spartan Speedway, in Lansing, Michigan. Lee Raymond won at Spartan with Bill Venturini notching the win in the 750th the next night at Flat Rock. 

1000 – the 1000th race in series history was at Pocono Raceway on July 19, 1997 and was won by Tim Steele. 

1110 – races on asphalt oval tracks. 

1250 – the 1250th race in series history was held at Chicagoland Speedway on September 6, 2008 and was won by Scott Lagasse, Jr. 

1476 – races on oval tracks. 

24,860 – days between the first-ever ARCA Menards Series race at Dayton Speedway on May 13, 1953 and the 1500th race, the Dawn 150, on June 4, 2021 at Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course. 


Sharing is caring!