Camping World Trucks take on the Queen City

Getty Images

The NASCAR Camping World Truck Series heads to Charlotte Motor Speedway for a Friday night showdown under the lights to kick off the traditional Memorial Day weekend of racing with the North Carolina Education Lottery 200 at 8:30 p.m. ET (FS1, MRN, SiriusXM NASCAR Radio).

This weekend marks the 20th time the trucks have taken on the 1.5-mile oval. Ted Musgrave won the inaugural race in 2003, and Kyle Busch leads all drivers with eight wins in 14 starts at the track. Matt Crafton is the only active driver with multiple wins (two – 2008, 2016) at the track. (Ron Hornaday Jr. also has a pair of wins at Charlotte.)

Johnny Sauter (2018) is the only other previous winner who is entered in this weekend’s race.

Hornaday is the only driver to have won at Charlotte and then gone on to win the series championship that year – and he did it twice in 2007 and 2009.

The Camping World Truck Series will hold practice and qualifying sessions for the second week in a row, with all on-track activity taking place on Friday. There are currently 40 trucks entered to contend for 36 spots on the starting grid.

Sharing is caring!