NCS Kings of ‘Dega & Daytona

Worldwide Copyright ©2017 Action Sports Photography, Inc

The art of ‘Drafting’ on tracks like Daytona International Speedway and Talladega Superspeedway is a skill not every driver can master, but for the ones that learn to manipulate the air to their benefit at nearly 200 mph have found the spoils of Victory Lane in some of the NASCAR Cup Series’ biggest races. 

No driver has been more successful in points-paying races at both Daytona and Talladega than NASCAR Hall of Famer Dale Earnhardt with 13 combined victories – 10 wins at Talladega (1983, 1984, 1990 sweep, 1991, 1993, 1994, 1999 sweep, 2000) and three wins at Daytona (1990, 1993, 1998).

In total 85 different drivers have visited Victory Lane at Daytona and Talladega in the NASCAR Cup Series. This weekend at Talladega Superspeedway, nine active drivers have won at the 2.66-mile track and 16 have either won at Daytona or Talladega.

Active Daytona & Talladega NASCAR Cup Series Winners

RankActive DriversTotal WinsDaytona Wins (Season)Talladega Wins (Season)
1Brad Keselowski61 (2016)5 (2017, 2016, 2014, 2012, 2009)
2Denny Hamlin53 (2020, 2019, 2016)2 (2020, 2014)
3Joey Logano41 (2015)3 (2018, 2016, 2015)
4Kevin Harvick32 (2010, 2007)1 (2010)
5Aric Almirola21 (2014)1 (2018)
6Kyle Busch21 (2008)1 (2008)
7Ricky Stenhouse Jr21 (2017)1 (2017)
8Ryan Blaney202 (2020, 2019)
9Austin Dillon11 (2018)0
10Chase Elliott101 (2019)
11Erik Jones11 (2018)0
12Justin Haley11 (2019)0
13Kurt Busch11 (2017)0
14Michael McDowell11 (2021)0
15Ryan Newman11 (2008)0
16William Byron11 (2019)0

Team Penske’s Brad Keselowski with five victories (2009, 2012, 2014, 2016, 2017) leads all active NASCAR Cup Series drivers in Talladega wins. Keselowski is one of 11 different drivers to score his very first NASCAR Cup Series career win at Talladega back in 2009 driving for Phoenix Racing and car owner James Finch.

First-Time NASCAR Cup Series Winners at Talladega Superspeedway

First-Time Race Winners (11)Date
Ricky Stenhouse JrSunday, May 7, 2017
Brad KeselowskiSunday, April 26, 2009
Brian VickersSunday, October 8, 2006
Ken SchraderSunday, July 31, 1988
Phil ParsonsSunday, May 1, 1988
Davey AllisonSunday, May 3, 1987
Bobby Hillin JrSunday, July 27, 1986
Ron BouchardSunday, August 2, 1981
Lennie PondSunday, August 6, 1978
Dick BrooksSunday, August 12, 1973
Richard BrickhouseSunday, September 14, 1969

Over the last 11 Cup races at Talladega, no organization has been stronger than Team Penske, posting seven wins in the last 11 events (Brad Keselowski had two wins, Joey Logano had three wins and Ryan Blaney had two wins). 

In total, Brad Keselowski has made 24 series starts at Talladega posting five wins, seven top fives and 11 top 10s. Joey Logano has made 24 series starts at Talladega posting three wins, eight top fives and 10 top 10s. And Ryan Blaney has made 13 series starts at Talladega posting two wins, three top fives and four top 10s.

Sharing is caring!