Hot Streak: Trend of different winners to start the season In The NCS could reach eight at Martinsville

Getty Images

Team Penske’s Joey Logano made history last weekend winning the first race on dirt in the NASCAR Cup Series in over 50 years and the first at Bristol Motor Speedway Dirt. In the process, Logano kept the streak of different winners to start the season alive making the 2021 season the fifth different year in the NASCAR Cup Series Modern Era (1972-2021) to start with seven differentdrivers in Victory Lane; joining 2014, 2003, 2000 and 1991.  

Now the NASCAR Cup Series is heading to the historic Martinsville Speedway to see if the streak can make it to eight different winners. If the 2021 season sees an eighth different victor this weekend it will become just the third different season in the NASCAR Cup Series Modern Era (1972-Present) to start with eight different winners in the first eight races; joining 2003 and 2000. 

SeasonRace No.WinnersTrackDate
20211Michael McDowellDaytonaSunday, February 14, 2021
20212Christopher BellDaytona RCSunday, February 21, 2021
20213William ByronHomesteadSunday, February 28, 2021
20214Kyle LarsonLas VegasSunday, March 7, 2021
20215Martin Truex JrPhoenixSunday, March 14, 2021
20216Ryan BlaneyAtlantaSunday, March 21, 2021
20217Joey LoganoBristol DirtMonday, March 29, 2021

The Modern Era record of different winners to start a NASCAR Cup Series season is 10 set back in 2000. NASCAR Hall of Famer Dale Earnhardt Jr. snapped the different winners streak by winning his second race of the 2000 season at Richmond (Race No. 11).

SeasonRace No.WinnersTrackDate
20001Dale JarrettDaytonaSunday, February 20, 2000
20002Bobby LabonteRockinghamSunday, February 27, 2000
20003Jeff BurtonLas VegasSunday, March 5, 2000
20004Dale EarnhardtAtlantaSunday, March 12, 2000
20005Ward BurtonDarlingtonSunday, March 19, 2000
20006Rusty WallaceBristolSunday, March 26, 2000
20007Dale Earnhardt JrTexasSunday, April 2, 2000
20008Mark MartinMartinsvilleSunday, April 9, 2000
20009Jeff GordonTalladegaSunday, April 16, 2000
200010Jeremy MayfieldAuto ClubSunday, April 30, 2000

The next longest streak of different winners to start a season in the NASCAR Cup Series Modern Era belongs to 2003 with nine consecutive different winners. Kurt Busch snapped the streak of different winners by winning his second race of the 2003 season at Auto Club Speedway (Race No. 10).

SeasonRace No.WinnersTrackDate
20031Michael WaltripDaytonaSunday, February 16, 2003
20032Dale JarrettRockinghamSunday, February 23, 2003
20033Matt KensethLas VegasSunday, March 2, 2003
20034Bobby LabonteAtlantaSunday, March 9, 2003
20035Ricky CravenDarlingtonSunday, March 16, 2003
20036Kurt BuschBristolSunday, March 23, 2003
20037Ryan NewmanTexasSunday, March 30, 2003
20038Dale Earnhardt JrTalladegaSunday, April 6, 2003
20039Jeff GordonMartinsvilleSunday, April 13, 2003

In the Modern Era (1972-2021), the record for the most different NASCAR Cup Series winners in a single season in its entirety is 19 set back in 2001. The series has also seen a total of 18 different winners (second-most) in a single season twice – in 2002 and 2011. Last season the series produced 13 different winners.

Sharing is caring!