Harvick Goes For Darlington Sweep

Getty Images

This marks the second time in three years that Ford has won three of the first five races to start a NASCAR Cup Series season.  Joey Logano registered two wins during the western swing, taking the checkers at Las Vegas and Phoenix, while Harvick followed up at Darlington.  Ford is the only manufacturer with more than one victory this season and leads the manufacturer standings by 15 points.

Kevin Harvick was already the points leader going into Darlington, so his victory only increased his lead, which now stands at 28.  Overall, there are seven Ford drivers in the top 10, including three each from Stewart-Haas Racing and Team Penske.  Following Harvick in the standings are: Joey Logano (3rd), Brad Keselowski (5th), Aric Almirola (7th), Ryan Blaney (8th), Matt DiBenedetto (9th) and Clint Bowyer (10th).

Kevin Harvick’s victory Sunday marked his 50th in Cup competition, becoming only the 14th driver to achieve that milestone.  He joins NASCAR Hall of Famers Junior Johnson and Ned Jarrett with that many wins.  Harvick will move into 12th-place on the all-time list with his next Cup victory and needs four more to catch Lee Petty for 11th and five to tie Rusty Wallace for 10th.  Of the 20 Cup races Stewart-Haas Racing has won since joining Ford in 2017, Harvick was won 15.  In addition, Harvick is the only driver on the circuit who has recorded a top 10 finish in all five events this year.


1956 – Curtis Turner

1960 – Joe Weatherly (1)

1961 – Fred Lorenzen and Nelson Stacy

1962 – Nelson Stacy and Larry Frank

1963 – Fireball Roberts (2)

1964 – Fred Lorenzen (1)

1965 – Junior Johnson and Ned Jarrett

1968 – David Pearson (1)

1969 – Lee Roy Yarbrough (2)

1970 – David Pearson (1)

1981 – Neil Bonnett (2)

1982 – Dale Earnhardt (1)

1985 – Bill Elliott (Sweep)

1988 – Bill Elliott (2)

1992 – Bill Elliott (1)

1993 – Mark Martin (2)

1994 – Bill Elliott (2)

1997 – Dale Jarrett (1)

1998 – Dale Jarrett (1)

1999 – Jeff Burton (Sweep)

2001 – Dale Jarrett (1)

2005 – Greg Biffle

2006 – Greg Biffle

2018 – Brad Keselowski

2020 – Kevin Harvick (1)

Campbell Marketing & Communications for Ford Performance

Sharing is caring!