NASCAR Celebrates Xfinity and Camping World Truck Series Champions in Charlotte, NC

Getty Images Getty Images for NASCAR

NASCAR Xfinity Series and NASCAR Camping World Truck Series drivers, team members, the sport’s national media and loyal fans descended upon Charlotte, NC last weekend to merge the spectacle surrounding the annual crowning of champions with the eagerness for the start of a new season. NASCAR Xfinity Series and Camping World Truck Series champions were crowned and the top drivers in their respective series were honored at an exclusive celebration held at the Charlotte Convention Center on December 8.

Brett Moffitt—a Grimes, Iowa native—is the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series champion after a decisive victory in the Ford EcoBoost 200 at Homestead-Miami Speedway in November. Driving for underfunded Hattori Racing Enterprises, owned by former driver Shigeaki Hattori of Japan, Moffitt picked up his sixth victory of the season (second straight) and seventh of his career.

Moffitt formally received the 2018 NASCAR Camping World Truck Series trophy he earned. And the sport celebrated a dramatic season and recognized some of its most impactful participants which included former winners at Iowa Speedway.

The 2018 NASCAR Camping World Truck Series M&Ms 200 presented by Casey’s General Store at Iowa Speedway served as a victorious homecoming for the Iowa native. Moffitt, in his first career NASCAR Camping World Truck Series start at Iowa Speedway, led the final 76 laps en route to what was then his third career series victory.  

Iowa Speedway is proud of the moniker for past winners … Stars Are Made Here. Christopher Bell earned a victory in the NASCAR Xfinity Series U.S. Cellular 250 at Iowa Speedway in July, becoming the first Xfinity regular since Dale Earnhardt Jr. in 1999 to collect three consecutive race wins.


Sharing is caring!