CHEVY INDYCAR AT GATEWAY: Team Chevy Advance – Chevrolet Aiming for Strong Finish on Illinois Oval

Given a choice, Will Power would prefer to be the front-runner instead of the pursuer in the Verizon IndyCar Series championship chase.

He’s been both in a distinguished career and occupies the familiar dogged pursuer role as the stretch run to the driver/entrant championships begins with the Bommarito Automotive Group 500 under the lights Aug. 25 at Gateway Motorsports Park.

The 2014 Verizon IndyCar Series champion and four-time runner-up, driver of the No. 12 Verizon Team Penske Chevrolet, was the pole winner last August on the 1.25-mile egg-shaped oval in the return of Indy car racing to the racetrack in Madison, Illinois, after a 13-year absence. He’s fourth in the driver standings with three races left – this oval then two road courses.

Understandably, Power takes a once-race-at-a-time approach to the multiple title scenarios. Including double points awarded at the INDYCAR Grand Prix of Sonoma finale in mid-September, there are 212 maximum points available (including bonuses for the pole, leading a lap and most laps led).

“It’s just doing the right things that win races, basically,” said Power, who earned his 53rd career pole and placed second in the last race Aug. 19 at Pocono Raceway. “You don’t actually think of it as a championship. You just try to execute each day you’re at the track.”

Teammate Josef Newgarden, the reigning Verizon IndyCar Series champion, maintains a similar approach to the three-race set. Newgarden, driver of the No. 1 Verizon Team Penske Chevrolet, started alongside Power on the front row in the 248-lap race at Gateway in 2017 and went on to lead 170 laps to the checkered flag.

Newgarden’s fourth victory of the season solidified his points advantage, and he held off title challengers with a runner-up finish in the double-points season finale at Sonoma Raceway to claim his initial Verizon IndyCar Series championship.

“(The mid-set is the) same as always: maximize the result for the weekend,” said Newgarden, who paces all competitors with 476 laps led through 14 races. “We have to focus on building a fantastic car in the race. If we have that, try to get the most out of that. At this point, it comes down to every little detail and making sure you’re as prepared as possible.

“We managed to come on strong last year and hope to do the same this season.”

Simon Pagenaud, the 2016 series champion, started fourth and placed third in ’17 at Gateway Motorsports Park, and Chevrolet entries occupied four of the top five finishing positions. Pagenaud, sixth in the standings, will drive the No. 22 Menards Team Penske Chevrolet this week.

For Ed Carpenter who drives exclusively at the oval events for Ed Carpenter Racing, Gateway will the finale of the 2018 season for the perennial fan favorite. He has been running at the checkered flag in four of the five oval races so far this year with a Top 10 finish in each including the runner-up spot behind Power in the Indianapolis 500. Jordan King will take over the No. 20 Fuzzy’s Vodka Chevrolet for the final two events.

Gabby Chaves returns to the seat of the No. 88 Harding Group Chevrolet after Conor Daly took over driving duties for three races. Chaves, 25, has a best finish of fifth in 2017 in the Harding Group Chevrolet at Texas Motor Speedway in 31 career starts.

NBCSN will telecast the Bommarito Automotive Group 500 live at 8 p.m. ET Aug. 25.

In the 248-lap/310-mile race on the 1.25-mile oval, Team Chevy will be well represented by:


Matheus Leist, No. 4 ABC Supply Chevrolet

Tony Kanaan, No. 14 ABC Supply Chevrolet

Charlie Kimball, No. 23 Tresiba Chevrolet
Max Chilton, No. 59 Gallagher Chevrolet


Ed Carpenter, No. 20 Fuzzy’s Vodka Chevrolet
Spencer Pigot, No. 21 Fuzzy’s Vodka Chevrolet


Gabby Chaves, No. 88 Harding Group Chevrolet


Josef Newgarden, No. 1 Verizon Chevrolet
Will Power, No. 12 Verizon Chevrolet
Simon Pagenaud, No. 22 Menards Chevrolet

Chevrolet IndyCar V6 Year-By-Year Results










Engine Manufacturer Championship; Driver & Owner Titles (Ryan Hunter-Reay/Michael Andretti)





Engine Manufacturer Championship;
Indy 500 win (Tony Kanaan)





Engine Manufacturer Championship; Driver & Owner Titles (Will Power/Roger Penske)





Engine Manufacturer Championship; Driver & Owner Titles (Scott Dixon/Chip Ganassi);
Indy 500 Win (Juan Pablo Montoya) – first manufacturer to capture all titles since Chevrolet returned to the Verizon IndyCar Series in 2012





Engine Manufacturer Championship; Driver & Owner Titles (Simon Pagenaud/Roger Penske)





Engine Manufacturer Championship; Driver & Owner Titles (Josef Newgarden/Roger Penske)





Wins – Josef Newgarden (Phoenix, Barber, Road America), Will Power (Indianapolis RC, Indianapolis 500). Poles – Newgarden (Barber, Texas, Road America, Toronto), Power (Indianapolis RC, Iowa, Pocono), Ed Carpenter (Indianapolis 500)






2018 Verizon IndyCar Series Standings (Chevrolet in bold)

Driver Standings

Team Standings

Manufacturer Standings

1. Scott Dixon – 530
2. Alexander Rossi – 501
3. Josef Newgarden – 464
4. Will Power – 449
5. Ryan Hunter-Reay – 411

1. No. 9 Chip Ganassi Racing – 530
2. No. 27 Andretti Autosport – 501
3. No. 1 Team Penske – 464
4. No. 12 Team Penske – 449
5. No. 28 Andretti Autosport – 411

1. Honda – 1,275
2. Chevrolet – 992


Bommarito Automotive Group 500 (all times ET)

·         Verizon IndyCar Series Practice 1: 1:15 p.m., Friday, Aug. 24

·         Verizon IndyCar Qualifications: 5:15 p.m., Friday, Aug. 24

·         Verizon IndyCar Series Practice 2: 9 p.m., Friday, Aug. 24

·         Bommarito Automotive Group 500: 8 p.m., Saturday, Aug. 25

·         TV/Radio/Other: NBCSN will telecast the 248-lap/310-mile race on the 1.25-mile oval live at 8 p.m. Aug. 25. NBCSN will telecast qualifications live at 5 p.m. Aug. 24. Practice sessions will be streamed on in conjunction with the INDYCAR Radio Network broadcast. Qualifications and the race will also be broadcast on INDYCAR Radio Network affiliates,,, the INDYCAR Mobile app, Sirius 214, and XM209.

Team Chevy PR

Sharing is caring!