Home Sweet Home for Grimes, Iowa Native

Saturday evening’s NASCAR Camping World Truck Series M&Ms 200 presented by Casey’s General Store served as a victorious homecoming for Grimes, Iowa’s Brett Moffitt. Moffitt, in his first career NASCAR Camping World Truck Series start at Iowa Speedway, led the final 76 laps en route to his third career series victory.

Moffitt has already enjoyed some memorable moments at “The Fastest Short Track on the Planet”, including his first career NASCAR Xfinity Series start in 2012 and a trip to victory lane in the NASCAR K&N Pro Series in 2011.

“This is everything,” said Moffitt. “Being in my home state on Father’s Day weekend — my dad has done everything for me in my career and been my rock my whole life.”

Thanks to Moffitt’s stirring win at Atlanta Motor Speedway in February and tonight’s visit to Casey’s General Store’s Victory Lane, he has a virtually guaranteed spot in the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series Playoffs. Not only does Moffitt occupy an enviable position on the playoff grid, but his four top-five and four top-10 finishes have him third in the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series championship standings.

Noah Gragson attempted a dramatic move on the final lap in Turn 3 and was ahead of Moffitt until he hit the wall coming out of Turn 4 and then crossed the finish line in second.

“Video game style racing there,” Gragson said. “It’s fun racing at this track. I drove it in there … just overshot a little bit.”

Saturday Iowa Notebook

Notebook Item:

  • Bell, Grala Lead Practice Sessions for the NASCAR Xfinity Series 250 presented by Enogen
  • Another New Winner in 2018?




Rookie Christopher Bell led the way in opening NASCAR Xfinity Series practice Saturday at Iowa Speedway.

Bell piloted the Joe Gibbs Racing No. 20 Toyota to a 129.790 mph lap around the 7/8-mile in preparation for Sunday’s NASCAR Xfinity Series Iowa 250 presented by Enogen.

Daniel Hemric was second-fastest, recording a 129.656 mph lap in the Richard Childress Racing No. 21 Chevrolet. Shane Lee, series points leader and former Iowa Speedway winner Elliott Sadler and Cole Custer completed the top five on the leaderboard.

Kaz Grala led the way in the final NASCAR Xfinity Series practice Saturday afternoon. Grala got around Iowa Speedway with a fast lap of 130.052 mph in his No. 61 Fury Race Cars Ford. Grala will be making his first NASCAR Xfinity Series start at Iowa Speedway in his final confirmed race with the team. Iowa Speedway is one of the tracks where Grala has the most previous experience: In addition to two NASCAR Camping World Truck Series starts, the Boston native has raced in four NASCAR K&N Pro Series East races at the speedway.

Racing on Father’s Day is especially meaningful this weekend. Grala’s father Darius is part-owner of Fury Race Cars, which picked up the 19-year-old driver in a time of uncertainty and has allowed him to remain Playoff eligible thus far. A win in the NASCAR Xfinity Series Iowa 250 presented by Enogen would all but guarantee Grala entry into the NASCAR Xfinity Series Playoffs, provided he is in the top 30 in championship standings and has attempted to qualify for each race.

Qualifying for the NASCAR Xfinity Series Iowa 250 presented by Enogen is scheduled to start at 1:35 p.m. CT Sunday followed by the race at 4:00 p.m. The Sukup “First in the Field” Award will be given to the fastest driver in qualifying. Fans should plan to arrive at Iowa Speedway early to avoid congestion. Parking lots open at 10:00 a.m. CT with plenty of pre-race entertainment for fans to enjoy leading up to the green flag.


With 12 different winners in the first 13 races of the season (Brad Keselowski being the only multi-time winner), the parity in competition makes it seem like just about any driver has a shot to visit Casey’s General Store’s Victory Lane on Sunday at Iowa Speedway. What makes it even more exciting is if the 2018 season stays on its current trajectory, it could eclipse the current series record of the most different winners in single season at 18, set in 1988 and then tied last season.

There is a good chance the streak will keep growing, as only three of this year’s winners are entered this weekend (Justin Allgaier, Christopher Bell and Tyler Reddick) in the NASCAR Xfinity Series Iowa 250 presented by Enogen.

Iowa Speedway has been home to three first-time winners in the NASCAR Xfinity Series. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.’s first (2011) of his series-leading three wins at Iowa Speedway was also his first series career win in the Hawkeye State.

Then last season both races at Iowa Speedway brought new winners into the fold. William Byron powered to his first career NASCAR Xfinity Series win in this event last year and Ryan Preece followed it up with his first series career win when the series returned for the NASCAR Xfinity Series U.S. Cellular 250 presented by American Ethanol last July.

NASCAR PR (Photo Credit: Jennifer Coleman Photography)

Sharing is caring!